1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

Need info..Graphics Card within Rs.3000/-

Discussion in 'Graphic cards' started by onlytanmoy, Jul 18, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. onlytanmoy

    onlytanmoy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2006
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Dear All,

    Plz suggest me a good Geforce graphics card (512mb or more) within 3000 INR.
    My motherboard has 1 x PCIe x16, 1 x PCIe x1..so it shud fit into that.

    Awaiting your responses.

    Thanks in advance,
    Troy.
     
  2. desiibond

    desiibond Bond, Desi Bond!

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    9,754
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    probably a 9500GT.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    onlytanmoy

    onlytanmoy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2006
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks bond...9500 GT looks to be a good upgrade over my existing 6200 TC.
     
  4. OP
    OP
    onlytanmoy

    onlytanmoy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2006
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Cabinet is an I-Box Grabit with 250 W power supply. And i just checked about the Geforce 9500 GT...it has a Minimum System Power Requirement (W) of 350 W..so will it run properly with my current SMPS ? Plz reply.
     
  5. krishnandu.sarkar

    krishnandu.sarkar Simply a DIGITian

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    4,693
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Kolkata
    250Watt????????[:O]

    I dnt think so.......

    Check out the Hardware Requirements/Specifications @ their site
     
  6. OP
    OP
    onlytanmoy

    onlytanmoy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2006
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  7. krishnandu.sarkar

    krishnandu.sarkar Simply a DIGITian

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    4,693
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Kolkata

    Well u already stated tat ur smps is 250W and the graphics crd needs 350W.


    Buy a SMPS wid greater wattage(atleast 450W)
    Dnt use 9500GT on ur 250W SMPS. It may burn the crd or other components(eg. RAM)
     
  8. staticsid

    staticsid Team Digit

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Mumbai
    There is a massive entry level graphics card test in the upcoming issue (Aug) of Digit
     
  9. OP
    OP
    onlytanmoy

    onlytanmoy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2006
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry for the confusion Krishnandu...i just checked the box of my SMPS...its written on that "iBox-SMPS P4 300 Watts"..so its a 300 Watt :)
    1. can i now use the 9500 GT?
    2. If not, how much will the SMPS with 450 watt cost me?
    3. there is no need to change the existing cabinet, right?
    4. Wat is ur opinion abt the Geforce 9400 GT 1 GB Card? It has a Minimum System Power Requirement (W) of 300 W..which i have ?
     
  10. OP
    OP
    onlytanmoy

    onlytanmoy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2006
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks for that valuable piece of info mate...will keep an eye..thx.
     
  11. raj_v1982

    raj_v1982 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No No

    get 9400gt 512mb or 9500gt 512mb ( 512mb is enough for lower end cards)
    and get atleast generic 500watts powersupply like mercury or zebronics
     
  12. krishnandu.sarkar

    krishnandu.sarkar Simply a DIGITian

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    4,693
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Kolkata
    1. No. Even if ur SMPS is 300W. Coz approx ths much pwr is needed for mobo, processor, ram, hdd, dvd-rom etc etc

    2. well the cost depends on the brand u select. Zebronics/Coolermaster 'll cost u more than the othrs but more reliable.

    3. Yup. U dnt need to change the cabinet

    4. 9500GT is better than 9400GT. Go to geforce site to find the diff.

    Well i'll recommend u to go for a 500W SMPS coz it'll b more future proof. If u reallt can't afford 450W SMPS 'll do. But do not add too much devices(i.e more than 2 HDD etc)
     
  13. OP
    OP
    onlytanmoy

    onlytanmoy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2006
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks a lott Krishnandu...God bless.

    i will go as per ur recommendation - the 500W SMPS...its ok if i have to wait some more time to manage the extra cash but it will be worth.

    let me take this opportunity to take ur expert opinion that if you are to recommend me a good gaming system..which all peripherals u will advise ?
     
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2009
  14. acewin

    acewin Point Blanc

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,890
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    HD4550 is better than 9400GT, consumes lesser power too.
    get Sapphire/Asus HD4550
     
  15. acewin

    acewin Point Blanc

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,890
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    you are just blowing it out all for him LOL.

    I got 300W PSU, with a Pentium D 820, have put 2 SATA HDDs already. can put HD4550, but then system will become unstable will need a 350W PSU at max, and increasing it I can go for HD4670, so best safest bet is getting a 400W PSU (ones with average rating) which will be more than enough with a 9500GT/HD4670 and 2-3 HDDs.

    going for 500W PSU is totally not a good choice.
     
  16. krishnandu.sarkar

    krishnandu.sarkar Simply a DIGITian

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    4,693
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Kolkata
    ya acewin is rite. 450W PSU 'll b more than enough for his config.

    I just told him if he can go for a 500W PSU tat 'll b more future proof. He can add more HDD's, RAM, Better processor in future and even if he wish SLI/Cross-Fire.

    Othrwise 450W PSU is the best option.
     
  17. otpsurvive

    otpsurvive New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Go for the HD 4550 512MB which sells for around 3k. Nothing better is available in that budget.
     
  18. OP
    OP
    onlytanmoy

    onlytanmoy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2006
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks for replying guys..but a new problem now :(
    plz check the thread to know it
    Code:
    http://www.thinkdigit.com/forum/showthread.php?t=119534
    Mods/Admins >> Kindly close this thread. Thx.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page