Need Help....Me!

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by sonuchandrakar, Oct 23, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sonuchandrakar

    sonuchandrakar New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Patna
    Is there any way I can increase my surf speeds? I use 56 kbps Satyam Dialup with Windows XP pro.
     
  2. BlAsTeR

    BlAsTeR New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well there are some registry tweaks but i dont think they are really useful.

    I dont think so there are any ways to increase speed !!!

    :roll: :roll: :roll:
     
  3. ShekharPalash

    ShekharPalash Web Entrepreneur

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    hmm... get latest drivers to ur modem ( mine is conexant ) ... at home i use BSNL dial-up and i get 50-55.5 everytime with 7-8 kbps download speed with DAP 7.2
     
  4. sunnydiv

    sunnydiv Guest

    onspeed or artera

    works so good

    improved surfing speed 10 folds
    downloading speed, no improvement
     
  5. ujjwal

    ujjwal New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2003
    Messages:
    780
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    10 folds??? Anyway the speed largely depends on your ISP ... hover your mouse over the connection icon and see which speed you are connected at ... btw, if they are consistantly low, switch ISP or go for cable/dsl ...
     
  6. khandu

    khandu New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbhai
    dude u in patna get BSNL.. its da best..
     
  7. klinux

    klinux New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    625
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    - switch to opera and disable image loading
    - check ur modem site for particular settings to improve speed .
    - there are free tweaks one , just download the .reg file and run'em . i think mtuspeed is one of them too
     
  8. OP
    OP
    sonuchandrakar

    sonuchandrakar New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Patna
    I still have more than 200 hours in my connection. So there is no point in buying a new BSNL connection. And, BSNL is not so good here in Patna. With Satyam I get speeds between 30 kbps and 52 kbps. 52 is the maximum, I never got more than that. And yes, I will update my modem drivers too.
    klinux, where do I download those tweaks from?
     
  9. klinux

    klinux New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    625
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  10. xenkatesh

    xenkatesh Bewitched!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    chennai
    Try some internet surfing booster that speeds u up in browsing! or user OPERA OR FIREFOX browser instead of IE!!
     
  11. OP
    OP
    sonuchandrakar

    sonuchandrakar New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Patna
    I am using Opera now. Saw some fast speed, but not the 52 kbps type.
     
  12. club_pranay

    club_pranay Nokia 7110 to iPhone 5

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    go for a Broadband (32kbps shared package less then Rs 400 pm)
     
  13. xenkatesh

    xenkatesh Bewitched!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    chennai
    Then switch to Broad Band for better performance!
     
  14. ice

    ice New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    56K = 8KBps max speed.

    So if u get 5-7 its nice

    what artera and similar softwares do is compress images etc.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page