Need help in C++ progrramming...please...

Status
Not open for further replies.

sanket_203

Right off the assembly line
I recently installed Dev C++ (ver. 4.9.9.2) on my PC to complie and run C++ programs. I am new to programming field. When ever i run C++ programs in Dev C++ the programs compiles and runs with no errors . But it runs only halfway.(i.e it doesn't execute the whole program).

For eg. Please consider the following simple C++ program

Code:
#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

class Addition
{
      public:
            int a, b, total;

void sum()
       {
       cout << "Enter
 integers to be added:" << endl;
   cin >> a >> b;
   total = a + b;
   cout << "The sum is " << total << endl;
       }                 
};

int main()
{
Addition C1
C1.sum();
return 0;   
}
When I run this program, it ask for the "Enter integers to be added."
After I enter the two nos. and then press enter, the program automatically closes and returs to Dev C++ environment. What should I do to solve this problem. This happens with all the C++ programs. C programs are running fine with Dev C++. Please Help.

I have an AMD Athlon 3200 2.2 GHz System with 512 RAM running on Windows XP service Pack 2. I am using the Zune Theme from Microsoft.

I am also attaching a JPEG screen shot of the Program.

*sanketchauhan.co.cc/cpp_program.JPG

*www.flickr.com/photos/7747269@N08/3570789586/*sanketchauhan.co.cc/cpp_program.JPG

Last edited:

Pragadheesh

In the zone
give system("PAUSE"); before return 0;

actually cmd prompt get closed after doing the execution. so you need to PAUSE the screen to view your output. In cases like Turbo C ,VisualStudio etc we use getch() or Console.ReadKey() etc to pause the screen. :)

Liverpool_fan

Sami Hyypiä, LFC legend
Use getchar() or std::cin.get() (recommended in C++) to trap keyboard input. Do NOT use non standard library functions like getch() or Console.ReadKey(). They are non-portable as well.