1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

Need advise: Overclocking P4 and RAM

Discussion in 'Overclocking' started by yeshu26, Apr 3, 2006.

Tags:
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. yeshu26

    yeshu26 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi all, I am one of those who want best of all the worlds!

    My System
    P4, 2.4 Ghz, 533 FSB 478 pin
    Mercury Motherboard: p1845glm- agp 1.0
    DDR 256, 266 mhz
    120 HDD, Geforce 6200

    My question:
    1. How do I go about overclocking the processor
    2. How can I increase the motherboards memory fsb, so that I can put 512 ddr, 400 mhz

    3. If I put 512 mhz , 400 mhz in paralell to 256, 266 mhz, will the system work properly, without any hangs, or some other trouble? Is it true if you put a higher RAM then the MB automatically slows it down?

    Plz advise
    Himanshu
     
  2. Third Eye

    Third Eye gooby pls

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Messages:
    4,293
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Not very far from you
    increase fsb speed from bios.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    yeshu26

    yeshu26 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re:

    Increasing the fsb speed will also increase the clock speed of RAM slot? i.e. from 266 to 400 mhz?

    Because intel site says that 845gl can support upto 266 mhz of ddr ram

    Plz advise
     
  4. Third Eye

    Third Eye gooby pls

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Messages:
    4,293
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Not very far from you
    www.guru3d.com forums r giving gud adivce of overclocking.u can try it by becoming member.
     
  5. darklord

    darklord New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,428
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune,India
    I am not sure if you wanna try OCing on a Mercury Board.Also i dont think it will be having any BIOS options for doing so.

    Mixing of Memory modules is never recommended.As far as possible,avoid it.
     
  6. deathvirus_me

    deathvirus_me New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Well ... 400 MHz modules will run fine with 266 MHz modules .... but the speed will be set to 266 MHz ..... there will be no change in the FSB .....

    Well ... there are a lot of ways to oc .... but since u have 266 MHz ram's ... i'd say not to oc .. coz the little oc will barely result in a noticeable performance increase .... instead u can lower ur ram timings .... i got my ddr266 rams running at 2,2,2,6,1T ....
     
  7. darklord

    darklord New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,428
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune,India
    Well deathvirus,

    400 and 266 rated sticks have different timings.It is correct that the 400 will underclock and work @ 266 but its not guranteed that the timings are much to the liking of the 400 stick and hence it MIGHT act weird.

    It doesnt mean that DDR266 rated RAMs wont OC much,its a myth.

    Did you know that the legendary Winbond BH-5 chips were first introduced in DDR333 modules,theses were the same stick which went on to clock 300 Mhz @ 2-2-2-5 speeds.
     
  8. OP
    OP
    yeshu26

    yeshu26 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re:

    Hi guys, thanks for response. Here is something interesting.

    When I go to the bios I see three options for memory

    1. 266 mhz
    2. 333 mhz
    3. auto

    Does that mean my MB supports 333 ddrs also??? Why I am surprised because Intel 845 GL chipset only supports upto 266 mhz DDR.


    Plz advise
     
  9. cyrux

    cyrux New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    hyd
    Yes that means it supports 333Mhz , but i guess i read this in my old motherboard manual that its not advisable to rum RAMs at higher frequencies , so the best thing is to set it auto which would bring it down to 266Mhz
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page