Monitor to go with a 5770

girish_b

Journeyman
Well, I was thinking about taking a new monitor to go with the gfx card i'm purchasing - a MSi 5770 Hawk edition. I've been to the local hardware store, to have a look. And since then I can't decide whether I have to go with a 18.5 or a 20 or a 22 inch monitor.

I'm a web designer, I like to play games as well. But If I choose a 22 inch one, will it affaect the games's playability? drop in frame rates and all?

funkysourav

What The.... !!!
it doesn't depend on the size of the monitor but the native resolution
typically
18.5 incher=1440x****(overkill for card)
20 incher=1600x900(sweet spot)
22incher=1920x1080(moderate to great performance)

the real sweet spot is 1600x900 resolution
as at this resolution the hawk can run every single game in the planet with the highest settings

get a 20 incher or 22 incher
whichever suits you most

OP
G

girish_b

Journeyman
Back when I was playing Crysis and Warhead on 1400 x 900 with max details (Win Xp) there were a bit of framing here and there. It was a Palit 4850 I was using. So I'm a bit skeptical about the performance a 5770 will give on a bigger screen. 1 gb of gddr5 memory is pretty good, but I just don't wanna jump it.

coderunknown

Retired Forum Mod
^^ depends on the details level along with resolution. also about the ram, proccy (a fast proccy is of extreme necessity here).

a2mn2002

keen to learn..
hi all buddies !
can HD 5770 1gb + intel i5-750+4gb ddr3

play moderen games with HD resolution on 22 incher with high settings ?

Specially GTA 4 and mafia 2 ? This question has been asked me by my friends. coz one cant afford i7-920 + x58 + HD 5870.
How far behind the i5 combo is from i7 920 combo ?
should he wait for i7-920 to be affordable ?
so plz reply

OP
G

girish_b

Journeyman
My pc is an E8400 on a P5Q deluxe with only 2 gb 0f ddr2 800mhz ram. So.. when I decided upon the MSI 5770 hawk, I also thought about going for an upgrade of 4 gb more ram too.