[Merged] Why Click Refresh

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by Tom Thomas, May 27, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tom Thomas

    Tom Thomas New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kalyan [ Mumbai ]
    very simple question.....

    Why should we click Refresh (right click ) every now and then in Windows OS but why not in Linux ?

    What does Refresh Command do ?

    Technical answers appreciated....
     
  2. puja399

    puja399 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2005
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re: Why Click Refresh in Windows

    It does nothing other than redrawing or repainting the screen/active window, and is generally used to arrange icons/files which have got scattered over the window/screen.

    However, most often than not, u will watch some people (who call themselves 'Computer engineer' :) and are usually engaged in computer maintenance) to use this technique every now and then to (somehow) refresh the computer memory (??!!!) etc., especially if some sluggishness is apparent from the computer (which is a futile excercise, btw).
     
  3. selva1966

    selva1966 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Re: Why Click Refresh in Windows

    You are very observant puja399. I also noticed these engineers doing this. I am now copying them but with NO appreciable change in anything.
     
  4. sakumar79

    sakumar79 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    2,441
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Madurai
    Re: Why Click Refresh in Windows

    Yes, I think they do it as if to look busy and that they know what they are doing... Once you start interacting with them and indicate that you have good knowledge of computers, I have seen some of them stop doing it :)


    Arun
     
  5. puja399

    puja399 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2005
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re: Why Click Refresh in Windows

    I remember when I was learning computer in the MS-DOS era, I have seen some of these people using 'dir' command to check (??!!) the speed of computer (by watching the speed of directory listing onscreen :) )
     
  6. MysticHalo

    MysticHalo Your Maker.

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    mumba][
    Re: Why Click Refresh in Windows

    Refresh is just a sort of time pass---ppl get irritated if their comps take too much time to load a particular application, so they just click arnd refresh to reduce their anxiety<any other appropriate word, maybe> :?


    ROFL:p
     
  7. aryayush

    aryayush New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    5,594
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Noida
    Re: Why Click Refresh in Windows

    Well, refreshing the desktop once after XP has booted up properly does make it more responsive. For example, when you first click on 'Refresh' after booting up, it sort of takes a few seconds to do so. But the next refresh gets done instantaneously.
     
  8. vandit

    vandit New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    If I had a webcam u could have seen me, before you
    Re: Why Click Refresh in Windows

    just a sort of timepass.... or a hobby or even a automated mechanism by their body... or maybe its their fav. button.. :D.. and yes i do agree with aryayush ... even after using a heavy weight application it does become more responsive when u click refresh...
     
  9. puja399

    puja399 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2005
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re: Why Click Refresh in Windows

    It is just an illusion. Windows auto-redraws the screen when the CPU is idle, so just after running a resource hungry app, Windows is more concerned with the memory /disk cleanup and DLL unloading etc. than to redrawing or updating the screen. But when the user specifically asks Windows to redraw by using 'Refresh', such command takes priority over the 'cleaning up' task, and Windows redraws the screen as soon as possible, and thus defers the memory clean up for later.

    However, it is a known issue that Windows is not that much famous in clean up job, I guess defering such an action is not recommended as sometimes it may result in memory leakage. However those having greater knowledge about the Windows internals may please comment on this matter.
     
  10. MysticHalo

    MysticHalo Your Maker.

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    mumba][
    Re: Why Click Refresh in Windows

    Hey, thats nothing to do with increasing responsiveness of the PC.
    Try this-: Press ctrl+alt+del and see the cpu usage, now keep refreshing...nothing happens..on the other hand, if the CPU usage is high and u refresh ...its gonna increase further.
    Looks like some u believe that refreshing clears ram or something like that :neutral:
     
  11. the deconstructionist

    the deconstructionist New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    chasing new ideas
    Re: Why Click Refresh in Windows

    Well this is the reason for the F5 key to exist " You can press F5 when viewing a Web page to make sure that you have the most current version of that Web page. You can also use F5 when in Windows to refresh the screen. This can be a handy shortcut. If perhaps you are viewing the contents of a floppy disk and you insert a new floppy, your screen will still show the contents of the first floppy. Just press F5 to refresh the screen and see the contents of the floppy you just inserted."
     
  12. alienspiesu

    alienspiesu New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re: Why Click Refresh in Windows

    ya i too agree.. sum show off wit it.. n othrwise it cn b usd aftr u r finishd usg an app wich is resource hungry..
    n on the web or floppy disk as mentioned in the post above mine..
     
  13. eagle_y2j

    eagle_y2j New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Himalayas
    we can't just say it is some short of show of ?

    Windows Explorer can be slow to update its display when other programs change files and folders. Refresh speeds Explorer's reaction time.So we can't just say it is some short of show of ?
     
  14. Vyasram

    Vyasram The pWnster

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    841
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Karaikudi,TN
    Re: Why Click Refresh in Windows

    doing once maybe some good. But doin it 20-30 times is idiotic
     
  15. speedyguy

    speedyguy Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Bangalore/Jamshedpur
    Re: Why Click Refresh in Windows

    agreed vyasram, its useless refreshing 20-30 times....
    take a practical example....i agree does not clear ram or reduce cpu usage but does have to do somthin related wit dat...

    try it practically....quite a heavy program or application...once u hv ur desktop click start button...it takes a little time to it...esp wit non optimistic rig....now try again by doing a refresh once after quitting d program....u find it operates faster

    basically, wen u quit an application there r some temp and cached files which were used but need to be cleared b4 ur system stands by the desktop but windows is not able to do it quick enuf esp after getting older...(tis not d same wit freshly installed os or very fast system....this happens usually after more start-up services r installed n pc becomes lil unstable)...refresh actually means refreshing things wit the actual one..so it forces clearing of those temp files for redrawing ur current display

    u even have softwares for auto-refreshing....thereby faster closing of programs....refer to page - "www.winguides.com/tweak"

    cheers
     
  16. Tech&ME

    Tech&ME Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,438
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    Re: Why Click Refresh in Windows

    Ya I think this is something to do with Windows Explorer (File Manager), refreshing might be enabling the Explorer to update its file status faster and hence, we feel the system light as soon as we click on refresh once the desktop loads up when we start our comp.
     
  17. mohit sharma

    mohit sharma New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ghaziabad , India , Earth , Universe
    Re: Why Click Refresh in Windows

    we can see some repetive sort of exercise by some people which eventually gets spread to a vast chunk of people , i too sometimes think whenever most of the people came to a system they just start refreshing the desktop , even if the system is p4 3.0 ghz. and everything is running quite smoothly , and then evertime i think , what the hell this / that guy is trying to do !!!!
    is it something related to accelarating the throttle of the bike when it is ideally standing on a redlight !!!!! lol !!!
     
  18. speedyguy

    speedyguy Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Bangalore/Jamshedpur
    Re: Why Click Refresh in Windows

    well thats certainly no use repetatively hitting refresh n torturing ur mouse and F5 key....

    cheers
     
  19. CT Squad

    CT Squad New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jaipur
    Why Click Refresh in Windows

    what exactly does refresh do?
    while refreshing by right clicking on the desktop
     
  20. dheeraj_kumar

    dheeraj_kumar Legen-wait for it-dary!

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    2,470
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai
    Re: what does Refresh do?

    it reloads the wallpaper, icons, files, shortcuts and other enhancements on the desktop, or any other folder where you right click.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page