Laptop Hdd back up

Status
Not open for further replies.

ccspdy400

Right off the assembly line
Dear friends,

I am a copier machine service engineer. In a Canon digital copier cum printer , a laptop Hdd (Thoshiba) 2gb is fixed. It contains some fonts and pcl & postscript firmware in it. Now the Problem is I want to copy this to another laptop hard disk.

I heared that one of the technician in the same field can do this, by conecting the laptop hdd to IDE through a connector to a desk top and attains the task. is it possible.

I also tried by connecting the Laptop Hdd to a system, I can see the hdd is detected in the device Manager but it could not detect in my computer.

Please help me

muruperu6060@yahoo.co.in

Sourabh

Laptoping
Well its pretty simple. There are converters by which you can hook a laptop hdd to a desktop system using IDE cables which the other technician uses.
*img295.imageshack.us/img295/2139/ideadaptor2lr.jpg

Those are pretty cheap and you will find it, if you look at the right places. Ebay India has it too. Check out here These cost around 500 Rs.

A much better solution would be to get 2.5" hdd enclosure and connect it to any laptop/desktop PC via USB/firewire and transfer the files or create GHOST images of the same.

OP
C

ccspdy400

Dear Friend,

I got the connector, I connected the HDD through IDE-2. I could not detect the HDD in My computer, but it can see in the device manager, and disk management, Now I need to copy the contents of the HDD to another one, Partition style is not Fat32.
I right clicked in the disk management in the properties it shows the partition style is master boot record.

Please help me

Thank U

Muruperu6060 @yahoo.com

G

gxsaurav

since it is not FAT32 it cannot be shown in Windows XP as it will show only FAT32, FAT16,FAT or NTFS partitions in my Computer