laptop fails to start - help required..

monkey

Padawan
I have been using Dell Inspiron 1420 for past 5 years and few days back the laptop refused to start. Whenever I try to power it ON the power LED glows for 3 seconds and goes off. Then the battery LED glows for a second and goes off too. There is no other activity or LED that goes ON during this power up. This happens even when I try to start the laptop with the battery removed (this time battery LED doesn't turn ON). What can be wrong? I have already replaced the motherboard, thinking it to be faulty, but the problem remains.

Gollum

Collector
battery led will only turn on if battery is connected - nothing wrong in that department
try this
1. Disconnect the AC Adapter.[charger]
2. Remove the Battery.
3. Hold the Power button down for 30 seconds. [with no power source or peripheral connected]
4. Reconnect the AC adapter without connecting the battery.
5. Switch ON the Notebook power and check if the fault persists.

if this does not work, check with a good known ac adapter, if still no change, replace your system board or get a new laptop. Your laptop is too old to be still working anyway.

OP
M

monkey

Padawan
I have already tried the steps mentioned by you. Strange thing is that a few days back the laptop used to start after these steps although it still never went beyond POST screen. But now it doesn't even go to POST. I have also replaced the motherboard but the problem remains.

A few days back when I had installed new motherboard I was able to boot properly and use Windows. But few days later the laptop failed to boot. I am not able to understand where the problem is. Can faulty CPU cause this error?

OP
M

monkey

Padawan
Can bad HDD prevent laptop from going to BIOS screen?