ISO-IMAGE

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by sridhar8310, Aug 29, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sridhar8310

    sridhar8310 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    well in the august issue of digit, the dvd which was provided had the
    ISO-image of suse-linux. The iso image size is 700mb while that of the the linux if burned onto a disc would be 1.3gb. Can anyone tell me how such ISO-images with commpresed data can be made.
     
  2. Kl@w-24

    Kl@w-24 Slideshow Bob

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2004
    Messages:
    1,703
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    The ISO image burned on a CD would also be 700 MB, not 1.3 GB. Remember, a CD can hold only 700 MB ;)
     
  3. sUlPhUr|nE`

    sUlPhUr|nE` New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    Dont extract anything from the ISO Image...burn it as it is...If you are using Nero 6, Go to RECORDER>BURN IMAGE>select the image>BURN
    Dats it...
    Enjoy!
     
  4. rajeshjsl

    rajeshjsl AskRajesh

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yes Kl@w-24 is right .

    but virtual cd can create an image with compression in its own format
     
  5. OP
    OP
    sridhar8310

    sridhar8310 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yes Kl@w-24 a cd may hold 700mb but when i tried to burn of the iso image(700mb) i told u about onto a disc it wouldn't it said that the capacity was not sufficient.
    Also when i loaded the iso image using imagedrive(nero), i found out that the actual size was 1.3gb.
    So what do u have to say now
     
  6. JAK

    JAK What the Heck !

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ask Me !
    Explorer view

    [​IMG]

    Mounted Image

    [​IMG]

    It doesnt look to be 1.3 GB to me... :wink:
     
  7. lywyre

    lywyre Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Chennai/Vellore, TN
    Just right click the ISO and burn it with DVD Decryptor. (If you don't have download it. It is just under 1MB).
     
  8. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    happened in my 3 in 1 windows 2003 cd
    the thing is there are 3 os's on it ... but theres is essentially one folder
    yet it gave a size of 3 times the iso file when i checked
    yet it burned on the cd
    i guess it checks the size of all the folders mentioned even if its a repeat ....
    thats the only logical way i could figure out
     
  9. tuxfan

    tuxfan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,653
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    In Nero 5.5, how do I do it? If I create a data CD, it will just burn the .iso file and not the image. Nero saves its images as .nrg files and not .iso files :(
     
  10. Kl@w-24

    Kl@w-24 Slideshow Bob

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2004
    Messages:
    1,703
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    In Nero, choose 'Burn Image' from th File menu and select th image file.
     
  11. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    agree with kl@w
    or if ur still skeptical
    use ultraISO ... it has an inbuilt nero burner for the iso's
     
  12. tuxfan

    tuxfan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,653
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    :roll: silly me :oops: I have lost the drive to do even a little bit of R&D since I have been visiting tech forums. Thanks.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page