1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

Is it safe to let open this port by firewall..

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by LegendKiller, Feb 16, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LegendKiller

    LegendKiller New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You would recall,that i had posted a question regarding my net gettin non-functional after some time...
    Just now it got blocked again..and from the logs of nis 2006,i found out this port being blocked...

    Rule "Block Windows File Sharing" blocked communication. Local address: 139.0.0.0(netbios-ssn(139)).
    Process name is "System".

    I have allowed this port be open...is it safe!
     
  2. mediator

    mediator New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    2,491
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In ur Evil Mind!
    It seems ur having some Lan! If thats so its Ok to have it open! Neways its upto to u. Thats netbios that identifies the computer name on Lan!
     
  3. OP
    OP
    LegendKiller

    LegendKiller New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i went to their symantec's support,and they said its essential for sharing files,but at same time,it may compromise your pc's security...
     
  4. kalpik

    kalpik In Pursuit of "Happyness"

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,002
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Better block this port if its not your home LAN network...
     
  5. OP
    OP
    LegendKiller

    LegendKiller New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ya,thanks...after thorough research i am able to find out that my connection probs were not due to this port but due to mtnl's busy traffic,coz i have created special rule for norton to notify me when this port gets blocked and in recent internet hiccups,there was no fault b'coz of this port...
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page