How to power Airtel/BSNL Modem from laptop ?

Discussion in 'Laptops and Netbooks' started by PraKs, Aug 4, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PraKs

    PraKs New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    735
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    | Earth |
    Hey guys,

    A very simple question, Is it possible to pull power from USB port (2.0) of laptop & power on Airtel/BSNL Modem ?

    Reqirement is simple - There is no UPS & one needs modem to work incase of power cut. Laptop has 2 USB ports & gives 2 hours of battery backup. if I am not wrong Modem will work on around 9V of power.

    Will it be possible to make modem work by taking power supply from USB ports of laptop ? if Yes, HOW :) ??
     
  2. OP
    OP
    PraKs

    PraKs New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    735
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    | Earth |
    Anyone got an idea on this ?
     
  3. vandit

    vandit New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    If I had a webcam u could have seen me, before you
    The USB output voltage is around 5V. So if your modem req. 9V, it will not work.
     
  4. ico

    ico Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Messages:
    10,922
    Likes Received:
    112
    Trophy Points:
    63
    ^ I've actually used my Beetel 220BXI modem with my Telephone's 6V adapter. :D

    But the question is, where can you find a cable whose one end can be connected to your modem's power supply and the 2nd to the USB port. Extremely difficult to find.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    PraKs

    PraKs New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    735
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    | Earth |
    Can you pls tell how did you do that. Have the same 220 BX
     
  6. gopi_vbboy

    gopi_vbboy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,452
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hyderabad
    usb is dc o/p...the modem may have ac input...i think u need converters

    but my modem smartax is 9v-1a ac rating...i guess so much current cant be supplied by usb...
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page