How to download with firefox?????

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by tushar_novice, Nov 18, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tushar_novice

    tushar_novice New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Saturn
    Hey you all geeks out there.
    I use firefox or opera as my browser. The download manager of firefox is a babe. Well there are some links which are applicable only for IE users i think.

    These go like this:
    Right click to download
    (right click... choose save target as)

    It works fine with IE
    But when I try to use it with forefox it is screwed. It downloads the html file instead.
    Please tell me how to download these kinda files with firefox.

    FIREFOX IS AT LEAST 1000000000000 TIMES BETTER THAN IE.
    ALSO OPERA IS GREAT.
     
  2. xenkatesh

    xenkatesh Bewitched!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    chennai
    Dude press Ctrl+J u will see the download box
    go to Page option there in web features set the place where u want to save the files... u got that now just simply click the link u want to download that will start automatically......:)
     
  3. saROMan

    saROMan QA Juggler

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Messages:
    801
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    format c: /s/u/x
    or simply Copy the link n paste in add bar...the d/l manager starts d/l automatically
     
  4. swatkat

    swatkat Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    2,060
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Shimoga/ಶಿವಮೊಗ್ಗ
    Simply click on the download link and Firefox's downloader automatically opens up.No need to do "Right Click and Save Target as".
     
  5. OP
    OP
    tushar_novice

    tushar_novice New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Saturn
    @swatkat-- When I Left click on it a dialog box appears that says
    "Right Click->Save target as.."
     
  6. xenkatesh

    xenkatesh Bewitched!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    chennai
    Dude he said not to right click just click the link.... :wink:
     
  7. swatkat

    swatkat Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    2,060
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Shimoga/ಶಿವಮೊಗ್ಗ
    Can you post the links through which you are facing trouble to download.
     
  8. swatkat

    swatkat Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    2,060
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Shimoga/ಶಿವಮೊಗ್ಗ
    If u visit this link,for example ,
    http://www.bungie.net/Games/Halo2/page.aspx?section=AudioVideo&subsection=GameVideos&page=1

    There for downloading game videos they have said " right click and 'save as' " to download but in Firefox if u simply Left click on it Downloader opens up as i said earlier.
    But for some other sites you have to RIGHT click on the link and select the option "Save Link to Disk" and proceed accordingly to download the file.
    hope this solves ur problem.
     
  9. go4inet

    go4inet New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai
    The download speed is damn fast then other broswers !
    Sometime I get downloads @ 14 kbps with my dial up !

    :lol:
     
  10. amitpagarwal

    amitpagarwal New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  11. mariner

    mariner New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    mumbai
    thats the power of FIREFOX !!!!
     
  12. DKant

    DKant New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In a creaking plashtik chair
    :shock:

    Haven't tried donwloading with FF yet...Boy! I hope urn't kidding! ;)
     
  13. klinux

    klinux New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    625
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    since there is no specific firefox sub topic , within software thread , and loads of threads on firefox scattered around . i am posting 2 q's here .

    - is there an option to give more details abt the download in the d/l box , similar to the one in opera . i get the details only when a file is d/ling and not after its done . i got to click on properties of that file each time . this there any particular file where i can modify settings , eg ini , dat files etc

    - is there an option where i can choose only to use tabbed windows within one single windows and not have any links open in new windows . opera has this option , but some links in firefox open in seperate windows
     
  14. indrajit

    indrajit New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    Is there any way to pause a download and resume it later, as in other download managers?
     
  15. klinux

    klinux New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    625
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yup . in the download box , u can click on pause below the file name and resume if u want to continue and it will resume from where it left off . like gopher said its really faster than ie to d/l stuff
     
  16. amitpagarwal

    amitpagarwal New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What happens if you close the browser session while downloading ?

    Why not use a third party tool like Flashget and integrate it with Flashgot extension ?

    Amit @ http://labnol.blogspot.com
     
  17. [lokesh]

    [lokesh] New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Latitude:13.083 Longitude:80.283
    Well is that possible ??
    I tried using FlashGot, but how do i use it ? I prefer using DAP, is it possible to integrate DAP into Firefox ??
     
  18. KHUBBU

    KHUBBU New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    plz anyone tell how to use flashfget with firefox. is there any plugin to be installed.
     
  19. klinux

    klinux New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    625
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page