How much creativity is needed for professional programmers?

l30786

Right off the assembly line
Hello everyone,
I am a BCA - 4th semester student from IGNOU. I am pretty lost in terms of career decision right now. I am pretty average (if not below average) student. I was a pretty studious student back in 12 (85% in XII). But because of some unfortunate situations, I had to drop out of multiple colleges before deciding to do BCA from IGNOU. So, now I don't know where I want to go in life from here as I didn't plan to do BCA. I don't know much about IT field. I only know one thing - that people go on to become programmers after BCA or MCA. But I am sure the truth is different.

My question may sound all over the place, but please bear with me. So, I was pretty good at PCM and programming back in XII. And I thought I could one day become a programmer or something like any kid I guess. But, after joining BCA, I realized there is so much more to IT then just "Hello World" program. I am finding the subjects boring and tough, especially, subjects like Data Structure, Algorithm, DBMS, Networking etc. But I am pretty good at C,C++, Java etc. But only basic stuff, like writing a few lines of codes and basic programs. But since I am halfway through my degree and I have to decide where to go from here, I wanted to know a little bit about the practical side of the IT industry.