How Do I Go About Installing Linux?

Status
Not open for further replies.

shady_inc

Pee into the Wind...
i have a 40 gb hdd with two paritions and xp installed in one of them.I wish to install linux 7.04 from Digit bootable DVD on second partiton.but i don't want to lose the data on either of the partitions.how do i go about doing it??

I have no experience on even the basics of linux.so can someone plz tell me the exact steps i need to follow...

QwertyManiac

Commander in Chief
The best way is to make an empty partition, preferably the last one, and install Linux on it.

You need to make a free partition or some free space for Ubuntu 7.04. Move all your important stuff from D: to C: and delete D: and resize/split it as you wish (Give Linux about 10-15 GB, though the minimum's 3~ GB, you'll need the space later). Now boot from the CD and follow it .. easy from there on. :)

faraaz

Evil Genius
400 will be enuf praka?? I remember reading somewhere that rule of thumb was Swap has to be 2x your RAM size...

vish786

"The Gentleman"
that too is not required... becoz swap is hardly used nowadays. it was meant only before when memory was less.

if ur using too many multiple applications only then its used mostly.

saurabh kakkar

D i s t i n c t l y Ahead
shady_inc said:
i have a 40 gb hdd with two paritions and xp installed in one of them.I wish to install linux 7.04 from Digit bootable DVD on second partiton.but i don't want to lose the data on either of the partitions.how do i go about doing it??

I have no experience on even the basics of linux.so can someone plz tell me the exact steps i need to follow...

i think this thread will help a bit just scan through the sites :

*www.thinkdigit.com/forum/showthread.php?t=61019

infra_red_dude

Wire muncher!
faraaz said:
400 will be enuf praka?? I remember reading somewhere that rule of thumb was Swap has to be 2x your RAM size...