Help me set up a FM station

Status
Not open for further replies.

napster007

Padawan
hello frieds,
i have a problem to which i hope i'll i find the solution with your help. I'm an engg student, and i want to set up a FM radio frequency in my campus which is roughly of 5km radius. i want to be able to play songs and host talk shows etc. but nothing so hifi, after all its just for the college.

i want to know how i should proceed for doing so. I have many questions, ergo

1.) what all equipment should i need? (how many transmitters etc)
2.) what will be the initial cost of the set up? (to the bare minimum)
3.) what all should i be aware of to set it up? (should i have prior knoledge of stuff?)

please help me out with this, i'm really hoping i can start my station by the fall semester

thanks a ton

pimpom

Cyborg Agent
Are you an ECE student? I applaud your interest and enthusiasm, but it's not a simple as you may think.

The biggest hurdle may be getting a public broadcast licence. Different countries have different laws regarding radio broadcasts and I don't know what the present situation is for India, but practically all countries have very strict regulations. Regulations are very complex and are categorized according to frequency, type of transmission, power, application, etc etc.

As a rough guide, unlicensed transmissions are supposed to be limited to a range of about 30 metres. This is not an official figure and different limits are set for different types of transmission. It's only intended to give you some idea of what you can do without a licence.

To answer your questions briefly -

1) Basically, you need a transmitter-modulator, a music player, a microphone and a mixing console. Only one transmitter is needed for a limited area.