HD6770 overclocked to 900Mhz (overclocked) core and 1200Mhz (stock) VRAM

doomgiver

Warframe
This is my first attempt at any sort of overclocking.

Testbed :
AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE (stock) with CM hyper 212 evo
GSkill 4 GB DDR3 @ 1088 Mhz
Gigabyte GA-880GM UD2H
Sapphire HD 6770 1 GB GDDR5
Windows 7 64 bit
Corsair VX450
AMD Catalyst 12.10
Sapphire Trixx
MSI Afterburner
MSI Kombustor
GPUz
HWMon 64

Default clocks
775Mhz Core
1200 VRAM

Stage 1 :
doomgiver overclocks his HD 6770 - Imgur
Default clocks

Stage 2 :
I didnt go directly to 820...800 Mhz was the first stop. I didnt screenshot at that time, as im lazy :)

Stage 3 :
Next, 850 Mhz. Tested it fully for over an hour. totally stable temps and FPS. If cant push beyond 1000Mhz, i'll prolly stick with this

Stage 4 :
870 Mhz... very tricky. It actually slowed down wrt 850 Mhz. Framerates dropped. I asked around on IRC, and was advised to bump up the memory freq. At this point, I was about to give up, and revert to 850Mhz.

Stage 5 :
Decided to give it a last try. Bumped to 900 Mhz. Quite stable, though the fps was jumping at times.

Final Result:
AT last!!

Next Target : 1Ghz and beyond :)

Note : you might notice the timestamps are non linear, this is because i messed up the screenshot naming in my first attempt, and then had to go back and do it again.

As i dont have any sort of benchmarking tool, im unable to provide scores. (i do have furmark, btw)

OP
doomgiver

doomgiver

Warframe
the size is huuuge.
it may take a few days to get it :(

this is stupid.... if i close the overclocking software.. the gpu reverts to default settings... is this normal?
how do i get a "permanent" overclock?

OP
doomgiver

doomgiver

Warframe
the win98 appearance???? WTf...
I seriously have NO idea how that happened. I guess I didnt just notice :p

anyway, who notices the OS when you are playing games :)

Feels nice to use it as lesser graphical desktop suites and eyes when running office and such apps for hours and hours :p