1. Hi Guest
    We are running a survey about laptop service in India, and we'd love your inputs. Please help us improve the quality of laptop servicing, and if you've had any bad experiences, now is the time to be heard.
    Take the survey

Graphics Cards related queries here.

Discussion in 'Graphic cards' started by geek_rohit, Jan 29, 2005.

  1. Allu Azad

    Allu Azad Time Ruins Everything

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    994
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Raziel likes this.
  2. billubakra

    billubakra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    3,515
    Likes Received:
    300
    Trophy Points:
    83
  3. Raziel

    Raziel Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Event Horizon
    TheSloth and Allu Azad like this.
  4. true_lies

    true_lies Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Chandigarh
    Few months back I bought a used Asus 750Ti 2GB. Worked fine from then, temps were good and was able to handle games at max load.
    From past few days the GPU fan is acting up weird. On PC startup when windows loads, its speed varies from 0 rpm to 4200 rpm(screenshot). On startup, it happens every 15-30 seconds and then every few minutes until it just works normal. But the speed keeps on varying between 800-1200 rpm after that. Temperature is around 30 on idle. No such problems when playing games when its on full load, temp remain below 70.
    Was on 398.11 driver before, now just updated to 416.34.
    Untitled22112.jpg
     
  5. whitestar_999

    whitestar_999 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    9,146
    Likes Received:
    1,241
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    NCR
    ^Most likely some gfx driver/win 10 update.Try going back to whatever you were using before this issue.
     
  6. true_lies

    true_lies Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Chandigarh
    I was on 398.11 for a long time, issue started just a few days back. Just today when posting here earlier I had updated to the latest drivers. Issue remains even when I went back to 398.11

    Also I am using Windows 7.
    This is my system during startup when windows loads. Those high peaks at bottom right are from the GPU fan.
    Untitled221121.jpg

    Sent from my MotoG3-TE using Tapatalk
     
  7. whitestar_999

    whitestar_999 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    9,146
    Likes Received:
    1,241
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    NCR
    Did you change something few days ago like some AV/security software/system optimization software update or ran some task related to them?

    P.S.also run a AV scan assuming you are already running a good AV like avira,avast etc.
     
  8. true_lies

    true_lies Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Chandigarh
    I did experience some bsod after a power cut when my UPS didn't pick up after the cut. Windows didn't load at that time at all. Disconnected 2 of my hard drives and DVD drive, and it started up fine. Didn't disconnect the GPU.
    Not sure but i think the GPU problem started after that. If that's the cause, how can I rectify it?

    I got Avast AV and run a scan regularly, no problems on that front.

    Sent from my MotoG3-TE using Tapatalk
     
  9. whitestar_999

    whitestar_999 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    9,146
    Likes Received:
    1,241
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    NCR
    Run cmd as admin & type this command "sfc /scannow" (without quotes) & press enter.Also run crystaldiskinfo free & check hdd status is good.
     
  10. true_lies

    true_lies Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Chandigarh
    All fine. Got this on running the command
    Code:
    C:\Windows\system32>sfc /scannow
    
    Beginning system scan.  This process will take some time.
    
    Beginning verification phase of system scan.
    Verification 100% complete.
    
    Windows Resource Protection did not find any integrity violations.
    And crystaldiskinfo says all 3 of my drives are running Good
     
  11. true_lies

    true_lies Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Chandigarh
    Don't think it's related to just windows. Got Ubuntu 16.04 on one drive and happens on its startup too.

    Sent from my MotoG3-TE using Tapatalk
     
  12. whitestar_999

    whitestar_999 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    9,146
    Likes Received:
    1,241
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    NCR
    Then it may be possible that some hardware damage happened to fan controlling mechanism during that power cut/bsod.
     
  13. quicky008

    quicky008 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,662
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Kolkata
    Will a MSI gaming X RX 580 8gb work with a corsair txm 550W psu?This card requires two 8 pin power connectors.Afaik txm 550 does have 2 8 pin connectors,but can it handle the loads generated by a power hungry gpu like the 580,esp. during prolonged gaming sessions?
     
  14. chimera201

    chimera201 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    177
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Yes.
     
  15. bssunilreddy

    bssunilreddy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    13,370
    Likes Received:
    904
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hyderabad
    I think buying RX 580 from any vendor is better for 1080p gaming since you will get 3 AAA titles free from its purchase also.
    Also one can get another 2AAA titles free from purchasing any AMD Ryzen 5 or 7 CPUs right?
     
  16. quicky008

    quicky008 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,662
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Kolkata
    Which is the best vendor for amd gpus, among Asus, msi, x fx ,sapphire etc in terms of long term reliability and after sales service ?
     
  17. whitestar_999

    whitestar_999 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    9,146
    Likes Received:
    1,241
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    NCR
    Usually it is a toss between sapphire & asus as far as after sales service in India is concerned.
     
  18. nomad47

    nomad47 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,182
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Kota
    Using a Sapphire card from 2014. Card is ageing well. Had to RMA once. Was not a very pleasant experience. However after RMA it's working fine

    Sent from my ONEPLUS A5000 using Tapatalk
     
    quicky008 likes this.
  19. doomgiver

    doomgiver Warframe

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,140
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ncr
    been using sapphire HD6770 since 2012. still running good, without RMA.
    have to vacuum off the dust now and then, and it looks super beat up (the metal panel is all rusty), thats all.

    you take good care of stuff, it will work for a long time.
     
    quicky008 likes this.
  20. Zangetsu

    Zangetsu PM me for any queries in digirForum!

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,255
    Likes Received:
    194
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Soul Society
    You got the GPU chip silicon lottery.

    I too had HD6770 which was dead in 2015 (5yrs)
     

Share This Page