Gaming PC under 85K (Buying All)

Discussion in 'PC Components / Configurations' started by sohan_92, Sep 14, 2017.

  1. OP
    OP
    sohan_92

    sohan_92 The Timer

    Joined:
    May 11, 2013
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Bengaluru/ Bhubaneswar
    It is about time, I need to update this thread as Intel Coffeelake processors have already been released. I accept that price and Performance are better than Ryzen Processors, but those supported motherboards are too costly and overkill for me. So I guess I have to stick with Ryzen build.

    I have updated the parent post with few additions like budget, not required components and extra info, please go through before suggesting. Thanks in advance.
     
  2. billubakra

    billubakra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,623
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Check my specs in the second post and stick to that.
    P.S. ram prices are skyrocketing so get one asap. It costs 11k for 16 gb 2400mhz vengeance one in my city sealed without bill.
    Cpu- APC or Cyberpower.
     
  3. ssb1551

    ssb1551 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,998
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Bangalore
    I hope you meant UPS ! :p
     
  4. billubakra

    billubakra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,623
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Sorry, typo.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    sohan_92

    sohan_92 The Timer

    Joined:
    May 11, 2013
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Bengaluru/ Bhubaneswar
    How much clockspeed are you getting for your memory with your current build?
     
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2017
  6. billubakra

    billubakra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,623
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    48
    To be honest I never checked it after setting the system up for the first time. I have no intention of overclocking as all games play just fine, I will share a screenshot with you asap. Don't waste time get an 8 gb vengeance ram. The rest you can buy later.
     
    sohan_92 likes this.
  7. OP
    OP
    sohan_92

    sohan_92 The Timer

    Joined:
    May 11, 2013
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Bengaluru/ Bhubaneswar
    After doing few more research on internet, I found that in most of the cases i5-8400 outnumbers Ryzen 5 1600. Considering the fact that I am not going to OC the CPU, I have shortlisted components for both intel and amd. All prices are from online.

    Intel Rig:
    i5-8400 -14690
    Asus Prime z370P -12595
    RAM??? -15000
    Zotac 1060 6GB AMP -23400
    Antec VP550P -4200
    Samsung 850 EVO 250GB -7200
    Corsair SPEC-02 -4400
    APC BX600C-IN -2600
    LG 22MP68VQ-P -9900

    Total: 93.9K

    AMD Rig:
    Ryzen 5 1600 - 17100
    Asus Prime B350 Plus - 7700
    RAM??? -15000
    Zotac 1060 6GB AMP -23400
    Antec VP550P -4200
    Samsung 850 EVO 250GB -7200
    Corsair SPEC-02 -4400
    APC BX600C-IN -2600
    LG 22MP68VQ-P -9900

    Total: 91.5K

    I was not able to find a supported RAM for both of the motherboards. Any inputs will be helpful.
     
  8. gta5

    gta5 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2015
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    28
    1) Gigabyte Z370 HD3P looks better .. It has USB 3.1 Gen 2 , it is 500 Rs cheaper , supposedly better protection against Humidity.. you can get rough estimation of audio quality here ..


    Intel Z370 motherboards round-up: 17 times Coffee Lake

    Z370P uses ALC887 , you can use ASUS TUF Z370-Pro Gaming as a rough reference as it uses the same... Asus has overvoltage/undervoltage protection which is helpful when power supply is failing that can damage hardware if power supply is poor or protections not implemented correctly.. VRM's are probably same .. Asus mentions it as a 6 phase though it appears 7, while hardware info mentions gigabyte has 7 but it also depends upon quality.. ( with no overclocks VRM on any of them should not be a problem )


    2) 8 Gb ram should be fine as well for now.. better put that money into a better PSU with longer warranty .. Ram is very overpriced right now .. it is expected to come down in price by early-mid 2019 ...

    3) If you have a sinewave inverter at home use that instead that is much better , otherwise go for 1000VA UPS ..low VA UPS may or may not work with these APFC PSU ..

    4) R5 1600 isn't good without overclocking because it is clocked very low .. compare benchmarks of overclocked 1600 to 3.7 ghz ( not 3.9ghz/4.0ghz as that depends upon silicon lottery ) to i5 8400 and see how much difference you find and if it's worth it to pay more for intel ( or you can directly use 1600x vs 8400 benchmarks as a reference for approx performance )
     
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2017
    sohan_92 likes this.
  9. OP
    OP
    sohan_92

    sohan_92 The Timer

    Joined:
    May 11, 2013
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Bengaluru/ Bhubaneswar
    @gta5

    1) Gigabyte Z370 HD3P motherboard looks good. I followed the official support page,but I am unable to find matching SSD for mobo.

    2) And also the Supported Memory.

    3) I don't have Inverter. I guess I need 1.1KVa UPS. Shortlisted APC BX1100C-IN, but I am not sure if it supports APFC.

    4) If we are considering stock cpu criteria, there is small performance variation in between intel-8400 and Ryzen 1600x. But the problem is R5 1600x is costlier and doesn't come with CPU cooler. After little more digging, I also have found that on gaming coffeelake build has avg 10+ fps more than Ryzen 1600x build.
     
  10. gta5

    gta5 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2015
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    28
    1)2.5 inch SSD doesn't need matching as such ... Samsung 850 evo 2.5 inch is good..

    2) supported memory could be an issue if you are looking at higher mhz.. search around a bit more ..

    3) i am not saying buy 1600x .. buy 1600 and overclock it to 3.7 ghz ... but for benchmarks comparison use 1600x vs 8400 as a reference , since it will be hard to find benchmarks for 1600 OC to 3.7 .. most either use stock or take it to 3.9ghz / 4 ghz.. .. if there is a big percentage difference go for coffee then

    4) you will not get that info which UPS will work with PSU anywhere officially.. Most work fine but some may not.. with a 1100va i don't think there will be problem.. Buy ups on a trial basis from some offline store maybe if you can.. maybe 800VA could work as well..

    5) and don't forget about PSU .. Vp550P although a decent budget PSU has only 2 years warranty.. vp550p does work fine with a back UPS as per reply of some people who are using it like @billubakra .. TX 650M is new and user @Oli ibought it , not sure if he is using UPS
     
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2017
    billubakra likes this.
  11. OP
    OP
    sohan_92

    sohan_92 The Timer

    Joined:
    May 11, 2013
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Bengaluru/ Bhubaneswar
    @gta5

    Regarding point 1, we have a confusion. On official website of Gigabyte for this product there is a list of compatible SSD. Could you clarify on this regard ?
     
  12. billubakra

    billubakra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,623
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    48
    If you are not planning to OC then why not stick with the Zotac Gtx 1060 6gb instead of the amp version?
     
  13. OP
    OP
    sohan_92

    sohan_92 The Timer

    Joined:
    May 11, 2013
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Bengaluru/ Bhubaneswar
    Because it is factory overclocked, and has slightly better base clock than founder's edition.Also it has better cooling system (dual fan).
     
  14. whitestar_999

    whitestar_999 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6,353
    Likes Received:
    244
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    NCR
    Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H mobo + Intel SSD Drives - BIOS does not see the SSD drives.

    If it is indeed true then that would make make me consider asus mobo above gigabyte mobo.I can understand ram incompatibility but ssd incompatibility that too with major manufacturer like Intel is just not right.
     
    billubakra and sohan_92 like this.
  15. gta5

    gta5 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2015
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    28
    yeah it's rare to see incompatibility between a normal 2.5 inch sata ssd and mobo ..

    btw just for info the above user who faced incompatibility said the drive was an Enterprise level OEM Ssd and it was recognised after doing a low level format ( from another PC ) but after installing windows and rebooting a few times , mobo again failed to recognise ..

    anyways Gigabyte Z370HD3P has Samsung 850 Evo listed in their qualified vendor list with same version as shown in samsung india site .. MZ75E250 ( 250 GB )

    Asus z370 Prime P has a different variant of 850 Evo listed ( 1 tb )
     
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2017 at 1:40 AM
    billubakra likes this.
  16. billubakra

    billubakra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,623
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Will you use that "extra" base clock? The dual fan is not worth the extra money in my opinion.
     
  17. whitestar_999

    whitestar_999 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6,353
    Likes Received:
    244
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    NCR
    My guess is Asus list max supported capacity of a particular ssd series so 1TB 850EVO means any capacity EVO upto 1TB is officially supported by Asus mobo but in case of Gigabyte I think this is not true as someone in that thread posted that a bigger capacity 240GB version of a particular series Intel ssd didn't worked even though the 120GB version of same series was present in supported ssd list.
     
  18. OP
    OP
    sohan_92

    sohan_92 The Timer

    Joined:
    May 11, 2013
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Bengaluru/ Bhubaneswar
    Could you clarify in detailed manner? I think I am missing something.
     
  19. OP
    OP
    sohan_92

    sohan_92 The Timer

    Joined:
    May 11, 2013
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Bengaluru/ Bhubaneswar
    Checking QVL is pain in the neck and finding those eligible components on local market too.
     
  20. billubakra

    billubakra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,623
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Leave the dual fan aside. I was also skeptical when I was purchasing the gfx. I play high end games and the simple one is fine. Since you will also be playing games and won't be overclocking so stick with the simple one.
     

Share This Page