explorer exploder in Vista

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by Dumbledore, Oct 13, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dumbledore

    Dumbledore New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I own an AMD 3200+ 64bit Athlon xp 2.0GHz processor, 1GB RAM, A GeForce 6600GT LeadTek graphics card and an MSI motherboard. I use Vista and XP in dual boot. Recently in Vista, after the system boots up, I get this message

    "Windows Explorer has stopped working. Windows is trying to gather the possible reasons"

    Then immediately after that, the message "Windows Explorer is restarting" appears.

    And these two messages get repeated over and over and over again. Please help.
     
  2. sridatta

    sridatta An Esoteric Geek

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    one of my frenz are facing a similar problem too.. When they open a folder containing media (video), the explorer hang up and restarts..

    pls help in this case also..
     
  3. Anindya

    Anindya New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    Why going for Vista? Go for Linux. It has much more things to offer than vista has.
     
  4. xenkatesh

    xenkatesh Bewitched!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    chennai
    [Edit:techno_funky] Please do not take the efforts to post anything that will not help the thread and its author
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 14, 2006
  5. kalpik

    kalpik In Pursuit of "Happyness"

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,002
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Do you have nero installed on Vista? Nero is incompatible and gives this error.
     
  6. hemant_mathur

    hemant_mathur -- No Easter Eggs here --

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Messages:
    945
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Front of my pc
    #dumbledore : which versoin of vista do u have installed?
     
  7. shaunak

    shaunak Tux Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,218
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Mumbai
    If you have any vedio formats that have improper codecs installed [ie incompatible with vista], this can happen. try playing it with VLC media player.
    This can also be caused due to Zipgenius. it is incompati9ble with vista and can cause explorer to crash on right clicking, renaming or attempting to open an archived file. Try using 7zip instead.

    @ xenkatesh and Anindya: Try answering instead on critisizing.
     
  8. OP
    OP
    Dumbledore

    Dumbledore New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page