Enquiry about RAM Compatibility!!!!!!!!!!!

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by vaibhav_jain, Jun 20, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. vaibhav_jain

    vaibhav_jain GOD

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delhi
    i have a system whose configuration is following-:

    Intel pentium D 3.0 GHz, Intel original motherboard 946, Transcend RAM DDR2 667 Mhz 512MB clkspd=5, Kingston Ram DDR2 667 Mhz 1 GB clkspd=5.

    I want upgrade my memory, so i want to purchase a 2 GB DDR2 RAM Stick 667MHz clkspd=5. But now it is not available in the market. but one of the shopkeeper tells me to purchase 800 MHz it will run on my motherboard.
    Can this be possible? Does my above said RAM works fine with my new purchased 800 MHz RAM?

    Please suggest me the good solution?
     
  2. jeetu

    jeetu Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Most 946 m/b support 800 Mhz ddr 2 ram by default. Anyhow, Ddr 800 hz ram are backward compatible with ddr 667 , so it should work even at 667 speed. Just get a kingston 2 gb stick - around 1200 rs. Avoid simtronics etc.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    vaibhav_jain

    vaibhav_jain GOD

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delhi
    My motherboard is 946GZIS and accordint to its specification it only supports memory upto 667 MHz.
     
  4. damngoodman999

    damngoodman999 damnbadman666

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,474
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Coimbatore
    ya its limit 667 , but some board takes 800 as 667 , in case only it works not sure better make a sample ram in to your mobo
     
  5. paroh

    paroh Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    850
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    99.9% chances of, It will work. Or u can ask ur vendor to get it replaced if it does not work

    As i can confirm u that my board also supports DDr2 667mhz max. and i am using 2 667 1GB each and one 553mhz ram with no problem

    see this as it shows that 800mhz can run at 800mhz,667mhz and 533mhz
    Code:
    http://cgi.ebay.in/2GB-DDR2-800MHZ-PC6400-LAPTOP-RAM-TRANSCEND-667-533-400_W0QQitemZ400056108524QQcmdZViewItemQQimsxZ20090616?IMSfp=TL090616209001r2611
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2009
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page