DVD cloning

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by theraven, Sep 5, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    hey guys
    i got a couple of dvds from a friend and created an image using nero
    the problem is these are 8 gb + dvd's
    i bought a 4.7 gb dvd by mistake ..
    my question is what kinda dvd should i buy to make this work ?
    i do not have a dual layered writer .. i have one that came along with my laptop ...
    i did see the 8gb+ dvd's but i dun remember if that was dual layered or what
    i just needed to confirm before i went out and bought another blank dvd
     
  2. blade_runner

    blade_runner New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    To copy the whole DVD movie disc as it is u will need a DVD 9 or a DVD with 8.7G capacity. Or else u can use a software like DVD Shrink to shrink the movie to fit on a 4.Gb dvd. Best thing to do would be to keep the movie as it is and get rid of the extras like ads, trailors, making, extra languages etc. Also you can get rid of 2.1 track and keep the 5.1 or vice-versa. Even after doing so ur movie doesnt fit then u'll have to transcode it. Hope this is what ur were looking for .......

    And yes that 8+ DVD recordable that u saw shud be a DL one.
     
  3. whistler

    whistler New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Up, Above the world, So HIGH !!
    right said

    i also agree blade_runner..even though i use to make avi's [using Dr.divX]
    to fit any size dvd to a single cd with some tweaking with audio and video codecs and without any significant loss [or should i say no visible or audible loss]
    AND TO ADD "NICE AVTAAR BLADE_RUNNER" my fav. movie it is..!!
     
  4. OP
    OP
    theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    it should be dual layered ?????
    so i guess that wont work on my dvd writer will it ??
     
  5. OP
    OP
    theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    whistler .. i need to write dvd's not cd's
     
  6. OP
    OP
    theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    o and blade ... i need to keep the first 5 tracks of the dvd ... it has 5 movies in it .. it has 20 tracks of some crap
    and i have its image in nero .. so if u could help with that that would be gr8
    tho i doubt with 5 movies .. removin the excess will make any diff
    apart from this .. i have a couple of dvd rips ... the vob files
    i will do a search also .. but it will help if anyone can suggest how to convert that back into a dvd
     
  7. whistler

    whistler New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Up, Above the world, So HIGH !!
    No offence..just an idea..

    raven, its just that what i do....that dosent mean i want u also to do it.
    and read between the lines-----
    its ur choice as what u would like to do.
    as for the vob files.....check this
    http://www.avi-vcd.com/
    again no offence meant... :eek:
     
  8. blade_runner

    blade_runner New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Ahh ! So its one of those multi movies compilation. In that case the only possible thing one can do is to back up say 2 to 3 Movies per disc......Otherwise it wudnt be possible ! No need of DL discs man ....

    @whistler: Yep its my fav movie too and that my fav character frm the movie ! And dude as much as we all appreciate ur helping spirit raven wants to back-up his dvds in dvd video format, so avi format is kinda not wanted here. Hope u get the point. :)
     
  9. whistler

    whistler New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Up, Above the world, So HIGH !!
    ok..

    @ blade: okgot the point.. :D
     
  10. whistler

    whistler New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Up, Above the world, So HIGH !!
    oh ok

    that nrg reminds me....that there is a plug in of nero named DVD MPEG-2..
    that might help..
    do a google or PM me..
     
  11. whistler

    whistler New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Up, Above the world, So HIGH !!
  12. OP
    OP
    theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    hey thanx whistler ... and blade ...
    i guess thats what i gotta do then ;)
    thanx for the help guys
     
  13. whistler

    whistler New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Up, Above the world, So HIGH !!
  14. OP
    OP
    theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    yeah dvd idle pro is a good software
    never got down to using it tho...
    i wanted to use it for the region free function ..
    i was using using dvd region free till now ..
    u dont need the dvd pack
    there is a very good dvd rip/copy software called super dvd or something and its free
    players the best is windvd
     
  15. whistler

    whistler New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Up, Above the world, So HIGH !!
    yeah but installing windvd, then dvd region free, after that super dvd ripper..i think super pack is much reasonable to be all in one..[besides Dr divX which is a must]

    ur turn...
     
  16. OP
    OP
    theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    lol
    this aint an argument .. so its not abt turns
    yes u are right ... it is easier this way
    but its just abt the tools anyone is comfortable with ...
    and i seem to be comfortable with these for quite sometime ... since before i heard abt dvd idle pro and the pack ...
    so its kinda hard to shift tools thats all :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page