1. Hi Guest
    We are running a survey about laptop service in India, and we'd love your inputs. Please help us improve the quality of laptop servicing, and if you've had any bad experiences, now is the time to be heard.
    Take the survey

Do you use Linux OS as daily driver?

Discussion in 'Open Source' started by Vyom, Dec 2, 2018.

?

Which OS do you use primarily?

  1. Windows (7, 10)

    41.7%
  2. Linux (Ubuntu, Mint, Kali, else...)

    50.0%
  3. Mac OS

    8.3%
  4. Other

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. prudhivisekhar

    prudhivisekhar Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Vizag, Hyderabad
    No freeze issue in ubuntu
     
  2. prudhivisekhar

    prudhivisekhar Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Vizag, Hyderabad
    Ya. Bumblebee .. after installing it.. the laptop fans spins at full speed at generate a lots of noise .
     
  3. ico

    ico Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Messages:
    10,942
    Likes Received:
    116
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Since two months? Yes.
     
  4. OP
    OP
    Vyom

    Vyom The Power of x480

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    Messages:
    6,316
    Likes Received:
    209
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    "New" New Delhi
    One month of using Mint update:
    I really have become more comfortable with nix now. I don't really miss Windows, cause the fact that I am using Linux is getting more and more abstract the more I use it. I needed to boot into Windows one time when I wanted to declutter my PC. For some reason, sorting through lots of files seems easier in Windows. Maybe because of the "Everything" app, which lets you search any files with keywords instantaneously. Or maybe I still just feel more comfortable with the "File Explorer" of Windows. Apart from that I really enjoy connecting to my VPS, using ADB to connect to my phone, etc from Quake drop down terminal.

    Also need to find a good way to use Workspace. I think I can become more efficient if I use it.

    Also there are still some quirks in Linux, like I want some applications to launch in minimized mode, but I need to minimize all of them everytime I boot into Mint, but that's just minor annoyance. But I think I am enjoying using PC now that I don't have to think about "insecurities" and "updates" and all.

    PS: I have also started to use IRC again, so if old IRC folks wanna rejoin, are welcome to #krow.
     
  5. Desmond David

    Desmond David Destroy Erase Improve

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2005
    Messages:
    6,239
    Likes Received:
    149
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pune
    You mean the virtual desktops? Just switch to a new desktop and open some apps there.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    Vyom

    Vyom The Power of x480

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    Messages:
    6,316
    Likes Received:
    209
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    "New" New Delhi
    No I meant, I don't really used Workspace in the past, or in Windows 10, but since it's a good way to organize apps, I still need to using workspace in my workflow.
    Maybe I can maintain a workspace just for chat applications, and one for widgets, and last one can be all Terminal in full screen, so I just need to switch workspace to use terminal.
    How do you guys use Workspace in your workflow, if you use it?
    Also tagging @aaruni for this question.
     
  7. aaruni

    aaruni The Linux Guy

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2012
    Messages:
    1,100
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    I use my workspaces in roughly the same way you describe.
    Usually browser, terminal, etc are in first space. Telegram, IRC etc in second. Music, video, games, etc in third . Office, ide, notepad, etc in fourth.

    Sent from my moto g(6) using Tapatalk
     
  8. OP
    OP
    Vyom

    Vyom The Power of x480

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    Messages:
    6,316
    Likes Received:
    209
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    "New" New Delhi
    That was a fast reply!
    Anyway, so yes I can also use the workspaces that way. Seems it would be more productive to assign different workspaces for different jobs. "Browsing", "Communication", "Multimedia" and "Office" seems a good way to use workspaces. So naturally some questions:
    1. Can we rename a workspace to custom names?
    2. Is Ctrl + Alt + Arrow Keys the only way to switch workspaces? 3 keys seems to be difficult to press to switch workspaces, especially if you need to constantly switch for some reason.
    3. Is there any way to launch the apps in specified workspace? I don't think Mint currently remembers if I assign an app a workspace after a reboot.
     
  9. Desmond David

    Desmond David Destroy Erase Improve

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2005
    Messages:
    6,239
    Likes Received:
    149
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pune
    I don't think any of the distros remember which apps run in which workspace. But they will remember the widgets AFAIR.
     
  10. OP
    OP
    Vyom

    Vyom The Power of x480

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    Messages:
    6,316
    Likes Received:
    209
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    "New" New Delhi
    In Gnome there was an extension which use to make the apps remember the workspace in which it should remain. There should be something like this in Mint too.
     
  11. Desmond David

    Desmond David Destroy Erase Improve

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2005
    Messages:
    6,239
    Likes Received:
    149
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pune
    Perhaps that extension is compatible with Cinnamon? Since Cinnamon is based on Gnome. Do you know the name of that extension by any chance?
     
  12. OP
    OP
    Vyom

    Vyom The Power of x480

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    Messages:
    6,316
    Likes Received:
    209
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    "New" New Delhi
    I know damn well the name of the extension (I had listed all Gnome extensions I used on first page of this thread):
    It's Auto Move windows. Link: Auto Move Windows - GNOME Shell Extensions
     
  13. Desmond David

    Desmond David Destroy Erase Improve

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2005
    Messages:
    6,239
    Likes Received:
    149
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pune
    Oh, it's a Gnome shell extension. Well, that won't work with Cinnamon.
     
  14. OP
    OP
    Vyom

    Vyom The Power of x480

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    Messages:
    6,316
    Likes Received:
    209
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    "New" New Delhi
    TIL Gnome extensions are different than Gnome shell extensions. :(
     
  15. Desmond David

    Desmond David Destroy Erase Improve

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2005
    Messages:
    6,239
    Likes Received:
    149
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pune
    Though you can install Gnome parallelly and switch to it on your login screen.
     

Share This Page