disappearing red

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by stan, Sep 21, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. stan

    stan New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i have an LG studioworks 45V 14' monitor. recently i was watching the movie 'torque' when all of a sudden the colors seemed strange. on further examination, it was revealed that the red component had disappeared. wherever there ought to be red, i only get complete black. i tried changing graphics card, but the problem persists.
    in the beginning, there would be red when i booted the computer then the colors would flicker and red would disappear. now, there won't be any red in the beginning, but it'll eventually flicker back.
    friends tell me that the electron gun in my monitor is damaged and i'd need to take it to a workshop, but i've got a really busy schedule for atleast a month. can anything be done at home?

    thanks
     
  2. amistik

    amistik New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2004
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jorhat
    Your friends is right. Most probably some faults hae been developed in red electron gun circuitry. :(
    You can adjust the POT for red electron gun located in neck pcb. But that requires to open the monitor cover which may void warranty. And also it requires skill hands coz inside monitor FATAL voltages present.
     
  3. it_waaznt_me

    it_waaznt_me Coming back to life ..

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    A bit closer to heaven
    I had the same problem .. Does degausing it help ...? If not then you'll have to take it to workshop ...
     
  4. busyanuj

    busyanuj Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2003
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    this problem also occurs of one of the pins of the monitor cable (that connects to the CPU) gets broken etc. check it out.
    and try degaussing also.

    you might have to take it to the service workshop.
     
  5. cooljeba

    cooljeba The Photoshop Guy

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Messages:
    606
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    On Your monitor!
    IF u are not sure of what ur doing don't open the monitor as amistik said u can get a shock of life time ;).
    If the above trials fail then I recommend you take it to the workshop.

    ..:: peace ::..
    Jeba
     
  6. djmykey

    djmykey Let the music play.....

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2003
    Messages:
    665
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    All ppl getting those probs either ur monitor cable is damaged or a loose connection of the electron gune or else the worst u gotta dump ur monitor.
     
  7. i.am_mayur

    i.am_mayur New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Dude .. ALL ya need is a DEGAUSS .. uknow whatim sayin ?
     
  8. BONZI

    BONZI New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Palakkad Kerala
    Me too think degauss should help
     
  9. BONZI

    BONZI New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Palakkad Kerala
    Me too think degauss should help
     
  10. freshseasons

    freshseasons King of my own Castle

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    EVERYWHERE
    And if you have any Speakers near your monitor throw them right away.,..Propably they are not magnetically shielded...and if the company tell they are ...you can be sure they are damn lying...bythe well did u degauss...try kicking the monitor.( seriously ) ..it works for somepeople..as the gun that is lose inside get a bit assembled... :p
     
  11. IG

    IG New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai
    how do you degauss a monitor????
     
  12. ShekharPalash

    ShekharPalash Web Entrepreneur

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    yeah same happened with my uncle's PC... he also uses StudioWorks...

    I check its hardware and graphics driber stuff.. degaussed enough... nothing happened....


    lol

    it seems it some kinda viruz on StudioWorks monitors.... just kidding... ;-)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page