Disabling selected Windows Services

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by s18000rpm, Aug 16, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. s18000rpm

    s18000rpm ಠ_ಠ

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    Messages:
    5,608
    Likes Received:
    87
    Trophy Points:
    48
    I want to know whether, disabling a Windows service under a User Account is a SYSTEM Wide Change or just for that particular User Account.

    If change is for the user account, then i want to know which Windows Service's are safe to disable.

    I'll create a separate user acc. just for GAMING. so i wont be using any thing related to network/internet. i'll disable All start-up prgms. like AntiVirus, FireWall via "msconfig".

    Also i dont use the Agere Modem in my PC, it occupies a PCI slot. does this modem takes up any resource.

    NOTE= I've attached a notepad file which contains all the Process's running in my PC.

    My PC config-
    HP Pavilion,
    Softwares== XP Home SP2 (up-to-date), AVG Free, Windows Defender, ZoneAlarm Pro, SpyBot.
    HardWares== M/B-Intel 915G, Gfx-Intel GMA900(onboard),512MB RAM.
     
  2. sakumar79

    sakumar79 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    2,441
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Madurai
    Disabling services is a system wide change - you cannot have a user account that will have only some services and others that call many services AFAIK... What you can do is use a batch file to stop services that you dont need... Check out http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file/fid,23852-order,1-page,1-c,alldownloads/description.html for one such batch file... It is also discussed at http://www.pcworld.com/article/id,117409-page,3/article.html so you can stop the services before playing games and start them again after it ends... Also check out http://www.tweakhound.com/xp/xptweaks/supertweaks6.htm (link provided in earlier linked page) for detailed list of services that can be turned off...

    Arun
     
  3. deepak_m

    deepak_m New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    u can use 'hardware profiles' if u want. the services u enable/disable affect only that hardware profile.
     
  4. Rollercoaster

    Rollercoaster -The BlacKCoaT Operative-

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,206
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dehradun, India
    can a hardware profile be changed ont he go. or need to restart pc?
     
  5. anandk

    anandk Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    3,786
    Likes Received:
    106
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
  6. it_waaznt_me

    it_waaznt_me Coming back to life ..

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    A bit closer to heaven
    Or you might wanna have a look at this .. Its a copy of BV's service config page ..
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page