create back up for ubuntu softwares

Discussion in 'Open Source' started by Ankit Agrawal, Oct 13, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ankit Agrawal

    Ankit Agrawal New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    delhi
    hey friends plz help...
    how can I create back up of softwares which I hav installed from internet long hours waiting, so that when I reinstall my pc I don't require to download them again......
     
  2. JGuru

    JGuru Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,705
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Space-time continuum
    @Ankit Agrawal, The software packages that you downloaded are cached in the directory
    /var/cache/apt/archives. Burn this directory contents using CD/DVD burner
    software 'Gnomebaker'. Also open Synaptic Package Manager,

    $ gksu /usr/sbin/synaptic

    Go to the menu 'Settings'->'Preferences'

    This opens the 'Preferences' dialog. Here click on the tab 'Files' .Under 'Temporary Files',
    selct the option Leave all downloaded packages in the cache. Click on 'OK'
    button. This step is important. Otherwise the cache will be deleted over a period of time!!!

    See ScreenShot:

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2006
  3. OP
    OP
    Ankit Agrawal

    Ankit Agrawal New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    delhi
    @JGURU, in archieves folder I got approx, 200 files which r arranged acc... to alphabetical wise, when I double click on them some don't get install as sequence is required to maintain...
    do I hav to click 200 times for installing, and what to do with files which could not be installed (how to arrange them in sequence they get install)
     
  4. kalpik

    kalpik In Pursuit of "Happyness"

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,002
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    ^^ Dont double click them! Just replace your /var/cache/apt folder when you re-install ubuntu and just install the normal way (using apt-get).
     
  5. JGuru

    JGuru Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,705
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Space-time continuum
    Just copy the files from the CDROM to the directory /var/cache/apt/archives.

    Open the Terminal Window & type:

    $ sudo cp /cdrom/*.deb /var/cache/apt/archives

    Now update the Source list

    $ sudo cp /etc/apt/sources.list /etc/apt/sources_back.list
    $ sudo gedit /etc/apt/sources.list

    Just copy & Paste & following in the file.

    Code:
    [b]
      deb-src http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu dapper main restricted
    
    ## Uncomment the following two lines to add software from the 'universe'
    ## repository.
    ## N.B. software from this repository is ENTIRELY UNSUPPORTED by the Ubuntu
    ## team, and may not be under a free licence. Please satisfy yourself as to
    ## your rights to use the software. Also, please note that software in
    ## universe WILL NOT receive any review or updates from the Ubuntu security
    ## team.
    deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ dapper universe main restricted multiverse
    deb-src http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu dapper universe
    
    deb http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu dapper-security main restricted
    deb-src http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu dapper-security main restricted
    
    [/b]

    Save the file /etc/apt/sources.list

    Now you must fetch the Source updates from the Net (it takes a few minutes using a broadband connection)

    $ sudo apt-get update

    Wait until the updates are complete.

    After that install packages using 'apt-get'
    For eg.,
    $ sudo apt-get install xmms xmms-skins

    Or use Synaptic Package Manager to install packages.
     
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2006
  6. cpyder

    cpyder CpyderGraphix

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you guys.. Here is something that even i was looking for. I was thinking about this idea (for entire system):-
    Backup the / Partition (or directory whatever it is called in Linux) on a DVD.
    Backup the GRUB
    To restore format the drive (it should be same as original one ie hda1, hda2 etc)
    Copy the / from the backup to the drive.
    Restore the MBR.

    Should'nt it work??
    Geeks?? :)
     
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2006
  7. JGuru

    JGuru Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,705
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Space-time continuum
    @Cpyder,
    Backup root ('/') partition on a DVD:

    Just burn the root directory ('/') contents using gnomebaker.

    Backup Root partition on another partition:

    The partition were you want to backup the root parition must also
    be ext3 file system. First mount the partition where you want to transfer
    the root file system

    $ sudo mkdir /media/linux
    Assume that partition is hda8. ( NOTE: In your case it may vary!!)

    $ sudo mount /dev/hda8 /media/linux

    $ cp -a / /media/linux

    Restore MBR:

    GRUB (the Linux bootloader) is written in the MBR. If you install Window O.S
    after installing Linux. Windows writes itself in the MBR & GRUB is gone!!
    Boot from Ubuntu Live CD, Open the Terminal Window & type:

    $ sudo fdisk -l | grep Linux

    This will display two Linux partitions as output one is the root('/') & another swap
    Note down & the Linux root partition ( for eg., hda7)

    $ sudo grub-install /dev/hda7

    This will resore GRUB in the MBR.
     
  8. OP
    OP
    Ankit Agrawal

    Ankit Agrawal New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    delhi
    @JGURU, hey I want to know can I get my softwares back which I installed without internet use, and if I hav stored my archieves folder in another partition how to replace it with files system's archieve folder
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page