Core2duo or AMD 3500+

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by codename_romeo, Nov 3, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. codename_romeo

    codename_romeo Romeo + Lucifer = ME

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    989
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wat will be the performance difference i will get (in gaming) and general applications if i use Intel E 6300 1.86 GHz processor instead of AMD 3500+

    please post your suggestions and give an ideal mobo for intel core2duo
     
  2. ranjan2001

    ranjan2001 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    1,486
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Delhi
    6300 + asusP5B deluxe mobo +2gb of corsair ram when over clocked from 1.86 to 3.0GHz will leave behind all amd.

    You have further choice too 6400/6600 & top of ther line 6800 alos comming.
     
  3. jamyang312

    jamyang312 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    come'on man,,, core 2 duo all the way,,,, even if its not overclocked it still beats amd.....
     
  4. Tech Geek

    Tech Geek Wise Old Owl

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,602
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cyber Hell
    Of course u shud go for C2D
     
  5. paul_007

    paul_007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    801
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    earth

    1.86 GHz overclocked to 3.0 GHZ its almost double...r u sure we can do that without damaging processor
     
  6. akshayt

    akshayt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    C2D is no doubt better provided you equip with a good enough GPU. Never compromise on the GPU for a CPU in a great majority of cases.
     
  7. janitha

    janitha New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,801
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kollam, Kerala
    Are you comparing an AMD 3500 costing Rs.4500 to the 6800?
     
  8. ranjan2001

    ranjan2001 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    1,486
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Delhi
    Indeed yes with well cooled cabinets its a breeze with asus P5B deluxe mobo, see the thread on 2nd page which I posted about overclocking comparision of 6300 vs 6700.
     
  9. samrulez

    samrulez New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Dood, that's not possible with the Stock cooler for 24X7 use..
     
  10. ranjan2001

    ranjan2001 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    1,486
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Delhi
    Quite true thats why I said you need a well cooled cabinet with good airflow.
    Reading about overclocking on many other forums these with asus P5B deluxe I understand that you increase the FSB & if the mobo processor cannot boot it resets to the old last boot FSB so the mobo has a feature to protect the processor.

    I guess that you wont burn the processor in that case, nevertheless you apply cooling paste with well cooled cabinet & use Corsair TWIN2X2084-6400C4 RAM (DDR2-800 this is a must)
    You may want to read about the memory requirements
    http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/memory/display/ddr2-800.html
     
  11. samrulez

    samrulez New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well....my friend has the 6300...he also has a mighty TT-BT aka Thermal Take Big Typhoon cooler.....max that would be 24X7 was 2.8GHz....not more than that.....plus TT-BT is a awesome cooler...

    But I think with the stock cooler.a E6600 can go 3Gig ...for 24X7 use.,,


    While overclocking you also have to take care of the temps......yeah E6300 can even do 3.7GHz...but not 24X7 use..
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2006
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page