1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

command.exe is misbehaving

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by gtoX, May 10, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. gtoX

    gtoX New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TecH_DepoT
    Hi there,
    Just wanted to ask you all something that has been bothering me. My command.exe file seems to have been changed, because it just cannot run the regular commands related to Windows shell, such as regsvr32, ping or even ipconfig. Other commands are also reported as "not a recognized command". I had a hunch this was caused because VS.NET replaced my command interpreter with it's own, but uninstalling VS.NET didn't help either, so that could not have been it. Does anyone have any solutions/suggestions (other than reinstalling Windows).

    BTW, i'm running WinXP SP2 with IE6.

    Thank you,
    gToX
     
  2. RCuber

    RCuber The Mighty Unkel!!! Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    7,105
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ಬೆಂಗಳೂರು (Bengaluru)
    try using cmd.exe insted of command.exe
     
  3. anandk

    anandk Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    3,786
    Likes Received:
    106
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
  4. OP
    OP
    gtoX

    gtoX New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TecH_DepoT
    thanks for the replies.....
    i thought it was a spyware and all at first too, but i've checked. besides, BAT files work (quite) perfect with my command interpreter. it's just that direct commands don't work well... i'm afraid it's some setting in my Registry that i messed up with to result this... any help with that....?

    PS: Also tried cmd.exe .... as i said, it's something to do with the XP shell or something
     
  5. champ_rock

    champ_rock champ_rock

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Messages:
    750
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere on the earth , near the equator
    maybe some virus has messed it up... try to copy the command file (/windows) form that location to some other and rename it... then double click on it to run it..

    maybe thatwill work
     
  6. vinaypatel

    vinaypatel New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Visnagar
    Hey Man VS.Net Have It's Own Command Interpreater it never Replace that

    Dont tell this to other

    try cmd
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page