Change File size!

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by romeo_8693, Oct 20, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. romeo_8693

    romeo_8693 "The RaCaLaNGeL"©

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Goa/Pune
    many times it so happens that wen we d/l something if the d/l breaks in between the file(wen right click->prop)shows the full size rather than actual(d/l is incomplete).so my questuon is why this happens???
    2ndly is the reverse posible,meaning can a full file be made to LOOK smaller through some hex editing(5mb to 500kb)??(retaining the remaining part of the file intact)
     
  2. DukeNukem

    DukeNukem Come get Some

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Home Sweet Home
    Yes Bro. Windows need to make sure that there is enough space available for the file need to be copied so it reserve that much space. (only when it knows the size of file in advance).

    This case is different when you zip/rar file from network.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    romeo_8693

    romeo_8693 "The RaCaLaNGeL"©

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Goa/Pune
    what about 2nd question?
     
  4. OP
    OP
    romeo_8693

    romeo_8693 "The RaCaLaNGeL"©

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Goa/Pune
    is it possible or not possible????any1 plz ans!!!!
     
  5. blademast3r

    blademast3r New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Island of Time
    I guess its not possible, otherwise ppl wud not really care bout file space wud they?
     
  6. aakash_mishra

    aakash_mishra :-o

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    sIn cItY
    @romeo_8693
    As far as I know it is not possible
     
  7. AshishSharma

    AshishSharma Livin' in the ghetto

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hmm .... Home
    Nyone has idea how explorer calculates the size of files ?
     
  8. OP
    OP
    romeo_8693

    romeo_8693 "The RaCaLaNGeL"©

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Goa/Pune
    ashish got a point.....may be if you cud play around with the way explorer calc's the file size....
    @blade....the file will occupy the same space as b4..but it will only show as a smaller file...
     
  9. DukeNukem

    DukeNukem Come get Some

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Home Sweet Home
    as long as the file u are talking about is a MPG, AVi, WMV one

    or any video

    then use the appropriate cutter to trim the file till it is working

    it is a OK tested and duke approved method


    for else i havent try and for binary (.exe,.......) files, its not possible (as little as i know)
     
  10. AshishSharma

    AshishSharma Livin' in the ghetto

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hmm .... Home
    ^^^ He's not trying to bring down the size but fool Computer into showing incorrect size ...

    Lemme add an observation to this ... when you start downloading a torrent file it creates a file folder structure and blocks space for the files downloaded. Now if you look at the properties of the folder it'll show the size which it should achieve on download completion. At this point there is nothing in folder no data but it still occupies huge space ... How does it fools the computer into believing that the data is there ....

    I've seen some 2 MB .Rar files for complete Vista CD's which take some 2.5 GB on extraction but contain nothing .... I guess those are blank torrent folder structure compressed with Winrar ....

    I might be completely incorrect here ..... can nyone please shed some light on this ..... ?
     
  11. piyush gupta

    piyush gupta New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,284
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    never land
    i think vishal should have answer to these questions waiting for his response
     
  12. OP
    OP
    romeo_8693

    romeo_8693 "The RaCaLaNGeL"©

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Goa/Pune
    hey ashish u got my point man!!!!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page