cant create shortcut on desktop...

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by kamikaze, Jan 28, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kamikaze

    kamikaze New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hi guys,

    please could anyone help me wiht my problem, i dont know how it occured but it just happened. everytime i try and create a shortcut of any file/folder etc. it gives me the message saying "Windows could not create the shortcut. Check to see if the disk is full."

    this is really annoying, as i am trying to install microsoft publisher and the instalation corrupts as it cant create shortcuts :(

    please could someone kindly help me. thanks.
     
  2. agnels

    agnels Live The Dream!

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Goa
    It also happened to me. To overcome the problem i copied all the documents and files from this account and deleted the account and created a new one and everything was OK.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    kamikaze

    kamikaze New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    how did it happen to you. can u tell me like exactly what to do :)
     
  4. shwetanshu

    shwetanshu New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,100
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi/Bangalore
    he is saying copy ur files from ur present account to a different location like a different partition, delete ur present user account and then create a new one and then copy ur files back to ur new user account.

    Assuming u have XP installled on C: drive, since u have not mentioned
    UR USER files :
    c:\Documents and Settings\Username\
     
  5. OP
    OP
    kamikaze

    kamikaze New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    okay, but should i copy all the files in C:drive? yes i do have xp. its jus the copying bit i dont understand. plz could you tell me copy the files from wher and paste to what. thanks.
     
  6. Vishal Gupta

    Vishal Gupta Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5,173
    Likes Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AskVG.com
    U can check one thing!

    Start -> Run and type regedit.

    Nevigate to:

    HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\.lnk\ShellNew

    In right-side pane, check whether Command key exist or not!

    If it exist, then make sure its value is:

    rundll32.exe appwiz.cpl,NewLinkHere %1

    And if it doesnt exist, then create a new STRING value and give it name Command and set its value that I mentioned above!

    It should solve ur problem!!!
     
  7. OP
    OP
    kamikaze

    kamikaze New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks for the advice, but it already exists...what do i do now :S
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page