Buying a DSLR

Siddhant.

Right off the assembly line
Hi, I am a complete amateur in photography and have never owned a DSLR or an advanced P&S. The last camera I owned was a Sony Cybershot DSC W-350. My brother owns a DSLR and he takes some really fascinating pictures. I like photography but never took it up as I needed a good camera first.
I would like to know if I should or should not get a DSLR as there are many new features coming up in the sector of cameras. And if I should get one then which one. I should get a good DSLR with 18-55mm lens or a cheaper DSLR with a better lens. My budget is 40k max.
Thanks!

The Incinerator

Human Spambot
If you love photography then DSLR is your answer to it. To start with get an mid entry level DSLR to learn,coz these have a very good guide feature and almost most of the features of a Pro DSLR. What you will miss in the entry level bodies is some advanced Metering and fast FPS options,among some other features.But that wont really effect you at all in the intermediate stage ,trust me.

Choose a Canon 600D or a Nikon D5100 initially and then move on to better bodies as you learn. Of the two the Canon has a better guide for beginners .

sujoyp

Grand Master
I would suggest a D5200 now ....D5100 is old ....get D5200+kit and learn /read books/take tips

The Incinerator

Human Spambot
D5200 is at best 38K, I think the 600D with two lens ie 18-55 and 55-250 will be around Rs 36500 and IMO would be a better start up kit in that price range,what do you think?

raja manuel

In the zone
Can't you just borrow your brother's DSLR for some time and see if it is something you can live with? Whether a DSLR is for you or not depends a lot on the kind of photography you will do with it.

digit.sh

Journeyman
I would suggest a D5200 now ....D5100 is old ....get D5200+kit and learn /read books/take tips

Being old doesn't mean its bad. His budget is 40K and D5100 is the best bang for buck. The best combination I can think of, in his budget is: