1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

Budget system based on AthlonXP

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by parimal, Aug 30, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. parimal

    parimal New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2004
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Hi,
    One of my friend wants one budget system based on Athlon XP. He wants to use onboard video card due to lack of budget. I have given him the following config. Please give me some suggestions on this config. I heard this Asus board has some bugs in it....like it restarts again and again without any reason. Is this true?

    1.AMD Athlon XP 2600+ Processor (333MHz FSB, 512KB L2 cache, Barton Core)
    2.Asus A7N8X-VM motherboard (nVidia nForce2 IGP chipset)
    3.Kingston ValueRAM 1024MB dual channel DDR at 333MHz (PC2700) (2x 512MB) (model no.- KVR333x64C25)
    4.Western Digital Caviar 80GB, 7200rpm Ultra ATA hard drive with 2MB Cache (model no.- WD800BB)
    5.LiteOn 52x32x52x CD-RW drive
    6.Sony 1.44MB floppy drive
    7.ViewSonic E71f DynaFlat 17” CRT colour monitor
    8.Logitech standard keyboard deluxe (PS/2)
    9.Logitech value optical mouse (PS/2)
    10.Altec Lansing 221 2.1 speakers

    Please help..!

    He need to run some softwares which requires minimum 512MB RAM. As this board uses onboard video card he'll be not able to use full 512MB RAM, if I installed 512MB of RAM...this is the reason why I have given 1GB of RAM.
     
  2. plasmafire

    plasmafire New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Moving out of mumbai soon!
    hmm the board seemz 2 have some issues...

    y donn go 4 ath 64fx and gigabyte board?
    no vid. card?? try fx 5200 ~ Rs 4000
    mobo is 5.1 go 4 creative 5.1 spks...rs 4000
     
  3. plasmafire

    plasmafire New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Moving out of mumbai soon!
    BTW i'm a gamer(perf junkie)...so think with that pt
     
  4. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    1024 mb of ram isnt budget
    512 would be enuff if ur strict in it
    that will save u 4k and u can go for an add on agp card instead of onboard graphics
     
  5. blade_runner

    blade_runner New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Dude if u friend is budget conscious and wants a value system why is he going for all hi-end components.

    Hynix will be a value option.
    Altec lansings are better performers but cost more.so creative or some other brand wud be a good choice.
    Those Wds drives arent what i call value options .....

    Posting the budget would be much better. i'd suggest that you take a look at most threads in the h/w section and u will get ir solution or better still search.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    parimal

    parimal New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2004
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Forget about 1GB RAM.....instead I've decided to use external GeForce FX graphics for him. For which mobo I should go for.....Asus A7N8X, A7N8X-X or A7N8X-E Deluxe? I mean what is the diff between nForce2 400 and Ultra 400 chipsets? Which of them is better one??
    Please suggest!!
     
  7. plasmafire

    plasmafire New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Moving out of mumbai soon!
    all 3 are in incresing order of perf...

    5-10% incr
     
  8. plasmafire

    plasmafire New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Moving out of mumbai soon!
    again, y not 64 bit?? not too hi
    and he doesnt hav 2 upgd 4 a long time
     
  9. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    dude post the budget man ... we'll be able to help u better and answer such questions
     
  10. suave_guy

    suave_guy pedal to metal

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Along with the budget also describe the purpose of the computer.... i mean gaming or general work....coz if its not for gaming then the ultra version of the nforce2 mobo with onboard graphics will be quite ok as far as graphics and sound is concerned....
    you can also save around Rs.1000-1500 by going for non flat 17" monitor if in case other peripherals shoot up the budget....

    Enjoy:)
     
  11. djmykey

    djmykey Let the music play.....

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2003
    Messages:
    665
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    Why dont we have a restricted post in which a single person will update prices of hw as the new pieces roll out. Whaddya think ??
     
  12. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    think it is too much work ..and already discussed !!!!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page