budget IEMS under 700/-

guru_urug

iGoogle
I have spent the last few days googling and reading reviews of the well known iems (mentioned later) under Rs 700/- (max) Im still a college going student so I dont want to spend more than that since I travel by Mumbai's local trains and buses. Also I wont always have the time and patience to store the iems perfectly though I handle my stuff carefully.

I will be upgrading from the bundled iems that came with my LG optimus one. The phone will also be the source of music and on occasion my ipod touch 2G and Philips GoGear MP3 Player.

I want to enjoy bass effects as well as clarity of vocals and instruments. I love soulful songs as well as rock songs and bollywood beats. I dont want earphones that have absolutely no bass. I like something to pump me up. :mrgreen:

My options are:
Soundmagic PL-11 Rs.550/-
JVC marshmallow Rs.550/-
Meelectronics m2p Rs 550/-
Soundmagic PL-21 Rs.700/-

Now my queries are:
1) Between the iems priced at 550/- which are the best sounding ones?
Ive read that the meelec m2p is just as good as the other two in the range and also offers a mic(helpful with phone,though not a requirement).
2)I read in one review that the reviewer found the jvc marshmallow to be so good that he even recommended them over the SM PL-30.
3) Ive read that the new soundmagic earphones are durable and have good build quality (contrary to what Ive read here). Im not a harsh user but durabilty is a plus.
4)How much better is the PL-21 to the cheaper alternatives? Is it worth the extra dough? I dont want to spend more for 5% better clarity. Only a substantial upgrade will warrant spending more(Im spending my savings).

Last edited:

pratzgh1

Broken In
I have heard all those mentioned and personally own the pl11, Marshmallows and the Pl21's.

My impressions: (Preference given as per ranking - after using them for over a month)