BSNL DynDNS Config Help

Discussion in 'Broadband and DTH' started by Plasma_Snake, Jul 13, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Plasma_Snake

    Plasma_Snake Indidiot

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,401
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rock Island
    I've made my BSNL WiFi modem as the PPPoE dialer as I share the Local and Internet access between my desktop,laptop and phone. Now the major services that I intend to use, I've forwarded port for them.
    [​IMG]
    Now below is my DNS Server and DynDNS settings. I'm using the default BSNL DNS server IPs.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Now the trouble is that, I'm not able to access any of my services through other network, i.e. outside my LAN. I'm able to access via LAN only.
    If I enter the URL like http://bumpyshah.game-host.org:8080/gui inorder to check out my torrent's status or http://bumpyshah.game-host.org:1987/ to access my shares via HFS on my phone, it doesn't works.
    Ironic and strange thing is that HFS is able to check and update for DynDNS updates.[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Also if I select the DynDNS domain name and issue open in browser command in HFS, it opens it as http://localhost:1987/ whilst typing the whole domain name and port number and browsing to it gives "Failed to connect" error.
    I need it working not only to access my files and shares but also to setup my own web host for my testing purposes and I also want to host game servers which earlier worked flawlessly when my dialer was from Vista and Dynamic DNS update service was provided by no-ip. Please help!
     
  2. Padikkal

    Padikkal New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kannur, Kerala
    Try Primary DNS IP address as 192.168.1.1 on Modem
     
  3. OP
    OP
    Plasma_Snake

    Plasma_Snake Indidiot

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,401
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rock Island
    Umm there is no DNS server running on the modem itself then how will it resolve DNS queries? Will this make it to refer to DynDNS servers? Even then, there is no IP given for Dyn DNS server.
     
  4. Padikkal

    Padikkal New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kannur, Kerala
    I meant to change DNS setting on system. The modem will work as DNS server, it may not resolve, but forward to the next DNS server. DynDNS is connected with IP address only.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    Plasma_Snake

    Plasma_Snake Indidiot

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,401
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rock Island
    OK, tried that, got the uTorrent accessible thru web gui but still HFS is not accessible.
     
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2009
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page