browsers

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by mahendran, Oct 30, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mahendran

    mahendran Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Thottakad,Kottayam,Kerala
    upto how many browsers we can install and use trouble free browsing?my doubt is whether we can install different browsers like ie 6,opera and firefox etc and use as conveniently? will there be any clash?

    at present my os is win xp pro with sp2 and ie 6 alon e as browser.

    awaiting comments
     
  2. cooljeba

    cooljeba The Photoshop Guy

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Messages:
    606
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    On Your monitor!
    nothing like dat u can install how many browsers u want. just make sure dat ur don't fill up ur hdd :p lolz or ram while running them ;)
    BTW rather than too many browsers u can opt for firefox or opera both are feature rich

    ..:: peace ::..
    Jeba
     
  3. techno_funky

    techno_funky da' Ťurntable ruleth

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Messages:
    845
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Mumbai
    hey well to tell you
    i am using the folowing browsers now
    Firefox
    Maxthon
    Opera
    and I.E
    using these for a year now
    never found any problems

    so you too can go ahead with more browsers too
     
  4. it_waaznt_me

    it_waaznt_me Coming back to life ..

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    A bit closer to heaven
    Same list here ..
    Btw .. Maxthon rulez .. :) ...
     
  5. swatkat

    swatkat Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    2,060
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Shimoga/ಶಿವಮೊಗ್ಗ
    No Problemo.I use :
    1]IE 6
    2]Opera 7
    3]Firefox.8
    Keep in mind that .html and some other files that shows web related contents are associated with single application.
     
  6. sav_more

    sav_more New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    i use
    opera 7.54
    IE 6
    firefox
    no problems with any of them.
    but opera rulez!
     
  7. infohardik

    infohardik New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    This is a foolish thread........
    :!: :arrow:
     
  8. xenkatesh

    xenkatesh Bewitched!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    chennai
    IE6.0 Opera here.
    I love Opera!
     
  9. sujithtom

    sujithtom New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Not anywhere near you
    I think Infinite ;-)
     
  10. ujjwal

    ujjwal New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2003
    Messages:
    780
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Install as many, just remember that if set to do so, each browser but one will whine about it not being the default one ;)

    Oh btw, currently just got 3 in windows

    IE 6.0 SP1
    Moox build firefox
    MyIE 1.95
     
  11. GNUrag

    GNUrag FooBar Guy

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,246
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Interwebs
    Almost all GNU/Linux distributions come with atleast 5 browsers anyhow...

    --Namely: --
    Mozilla
    Firefox
    Galeon
    Epiphany
    Konqueror
    Lynx
    eLinks
    Dillo

    Each one for a different purpose
    Anyone tried them all ?
     
  12. drgrudge

    drgrudge Another Brick in the Wall

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,026
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dubai/Chennai
    no batty, firefox rulez :D
     
  13. ujjwal

    ujjwal New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2003
    Messages:
    780
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just got Deepnet and that's what rules on windows atleast ;)

    Hmm ... linux distro's stopped giving out netscape, GNU?
     
  14. GNUrag

    GNUrag FooBar Guy

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,246
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Interwebs
    Netscape's Navigator was not an OpenSource browser... ever since the merger of AOL and Netscape, those developers started a new project by name Mozilla ... in a way Netscape Navigator got reincarnated to Mozilla. read the mozilla book for more info...

    or read mozilla verses by giving about:mozilla in address bar ... you'll get a hint of this...

    Ever since the grand success of Mozilla Project, all distros started including mozilla...

    You see, its just like the old CHIP from Jasubhai that we had... which is now Digit...
     
  15. rohanbee

    rohanbee New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lost in the woods !!!
    Hey guys,
    some things in yahoo do not open easily on yahoo website like to watch videos of songs on yahoo it says yahoo does not support netscape navigator on this version of windows :x

    But i have Firefox, also when i have made it default browser and not ie6 does not open and whenever i press the ie6 icon only Firefox opens, how can i revert back to check out certain sites..

    Thanks fo any help !!!
     
  16. lavan_joy

    lavan_joy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2004
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In your heart
    I am Using opera and IE6...
    like opera7.5
     
  17. mariner

    mariner New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    mumbai
    i m using firefox 1.0 pr, opera 7 .both going gr8. ie 6.0 just dumped in a corner. pity cannot uninstall it.
     
  18. Wizard

    Wizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai,,,TamilNadu
  19. cooljeba

    cooljeba The Photoshop Guy

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Messages:
    606
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    On Your monitor!
    yep
    actually the topic has gone 180 outta phase :D

    ..:: peace ::..
    Jeba
     
  20. mariner

    mariner New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    mumbai
    bang on target, kid !
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page