Best Processor and motherboard combo for gaming

best processor and motherboard for gaming.

• I5-3570k+gb ud3h

Votes: 8 34.8%
  • i7-3770k+b75

Votes: 1 4.3%
  • Amd 8350+990

Votes: 10 43.5%
  • i7- 3770+matx -z77

Votes: 4 17.4%

• Total voters

NiGHtfUrY

Journeyman
I am planning to buy a new gaming rig but i am in a doubt about the main components i.e the processor and the motherboard.
Many members have asked this question so this thread may clear the doubt for everyone.

The idea of overclocking does not appeal to me as i have zero knowledge about it and it voids warranty and is an expensive choice and it does not give a HUGE boost to gaming.But having an option will be nice if someone can explain to me its importance.
I plan to keep the rig for 3-4 years.

My budget is 25k-26k for both the components.And the following are the four choices.

1.I5-3570K+Gb z77x ud3h+hyper 212=27k
This is the most expensive combo of all the choices and the one i actually was 100% sure i would buy.But it is the most expensive one and has 4 cores and does not have hyper threading hence it may be the fastest to become obsolete.

2.i7-3770k +gigabyte b75=24.5k
This i7 has some awesome reviews and also has hyperthreading which may/will help in gaming in the future but the mobo is pretty basic.

3.AMD fx 8350+Asus M5A99 R2.0= 23k
This is the one that led to making of the thread.Hyper-threading,more cores,better stock cooler and most important future upgrade is easy and a vfm price.But i read about it having problems in windows 7 and not being really a octa-core (posts by Cilus)

4. i7 3770 (non k) + gb z77 -d3h=25k
This may look stupid (non k + z77) but it almost same as i7 3770k and a better board with no ocing which i dont really want to do.

OTHER COMPONENTS
g skill ripjaws x 4gb or 8 gb
dell s2240l
saphire 7950
cm haf 912 with window
apc 600va
Corsair gs 600

Last edited:

Inceptionist

Journeyman
GPU is more important for gaming than CPU and MoBo.