Azom. Worth it?

DeathPig

Right off the assembly line
Hey digit. First post here.

I've been using an aging Dell XPS L401X for five years now. It's got a 425M GPU and a first generation i7. I was not really smart and bought this thinking it would be the mean gaming machine a teenager with money issues could get at a bargain. Long story short, mistakes were made, purchases done, and I had this. It's been holding up pretty good for these years, but I haven't played a major AAA release in 2 years.

I've finally started thinking about a replacement. Was looking at Sager and other brands, but they're really expensive. And Alienware/MSI are right out of my price range for not so great specs.

I was searching around and found a brand called Azom who seem to offer made to order laptops. They seem to use a Clevo barebones as the foundation, and build the product as per the customer's technical requirements. The whole website uses a single link so I'm not able to link you guys to the technical specs, but if you choose Exigo under Mobility Solutions, then choose Tech Specs it should be there.

I have been out of touch with hardware for a long time. I was thinking on a GTX970 (980 will be too steep for me) and an i7 Processor. But looking at processors, a lot of i5s' and i7s' performance ranges seem to bleed into other ones', especially for laptops. And as for SSD, all I know is it's fast. They offer 2 HDD bays so I was thinking about an 1TB drive now, and an SSD later on if it's gonna raise the cost too much.

All in all, I'll be buying this laptop in 2-3 months once I decide on the specs(where you guys could help a lot) and they decide on the cost. If anything I've said is not clear let me know.

Link to a review of the laptop explained by the company's co-founder.

Cheers, DP

I guess gaming is your main priority.

Azom exigo costs 1.2 lakhs with i7 & 970M... Yeah it surely is a VFM laptop for gamers but are you sure you need to spend 1 lakh+ on a laptop?