ASUS Motherboard Biass!!!

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by chetan.g, Oct 19, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. chetan.g

    chetan.g Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    mumbai
    Hello eveyone

    i want to upgrade my system to intel core 2 due processor and after quite research i settel with :

    Intel core 2 Due E8500 processor

    Motherboard: this is where i am totally confused coz : I wanted to have a ASUS motherboard having Integrated NVIDIA Graphics and giving decent performance

    I generally surf the web lot, watch movies, play light games like Age of Empire, Quake III, Prince of Persia, and my system runs for 8-10 hours a day daily.

    so, I came u with ASUS-P5N73-AM motherboard.

    please let me know wether i have done a nice choice or is there are other options available in ASUS series

    please help me out

    regards
     
  2. desiibond

    desiibond Bond, Desi Bond!

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    9,754
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    It's totally waste to go for Core2Duo E8500. What's your budget.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    chetan.g

    chetan.g Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    mumbai
    why so ??

    my buget is between 12,000 to 15,000 for processor , motherboard and 2GB of RAM

    please let me know buddy
     
  4. desiibond

    desiibond Bond, Desi Bond!

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    9,754
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    E8500 itself is around 10k. And it is easily beaten by
    ASUS-P5N73-AM has nvidia 7050 chipset, which sucks.

    Athlon II X4 630 or Phenom II X2 550: 5.5k
    ASUS M4A785TD-V EVO or MSI 790FX-G65: 7k-7.5k or
    Transcend 2x2Gb DDR3 1333MHz ram : 4k-5k
     
  5. OP
    OP
    chetan.g

    chetan.g Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    mumbai
    thanks buddy for the guidance

    but i want to stick with core 2 due processors .. I am not able to understand by "easiy en".. moreover if this processor is comming in 10k then i would shift to intel core 2 duo E7200.

    now is it oky plz suggest
     
  6. Krow

    Krow Crowman

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,330
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    WHY? Did some "knowledgeable" friend or computer dealer tell you that the C2D is the best thing you should be buying? Do you think that the config suggested by desiibond is inferior to the C2D based config you want? Have you checked reviews of the processors suggested by desii and compared them to C2D? Do you know that the C2D is a processor which is going to be replaced by intel's newer architecture in January 2010? If no, then go for desii's config. Its best for your budget and your needs.

    This one is for about 5k. The proccys desii suggested are much better than this one. Trust me, for your budget and needs, AMD is the way to go. It is much more future proof and value for money.

    Since I think that it is difficult to trust blindly, here are two gaming benchmark reviews to help you :

    For Athlon II X4 620:
    http://www.techspot.com/review/197-amd-athlon2-x4-620/page7.html

    For Phenom II X2 550:
    http://www.techspot.com/review/171-amd-phenomx2-athlonx2/page10.html
     
  7. OP
    OP
    chetan.g

    chetan.g Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    mumbai
    thanks for above guidance .. now i'll stuck to the suggested config thanks :)
     
  8. OP
    OP
    chetan.g

    chetan.g Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    mumbai
    Hello sir,

    When I went to purchase on above configuration the dealer told wether I want to buy AMD Phenom II X2 550 BE or AMD Phenom II X2 550.

    I think before going on one I should seek your suggestion

    plz suggest help

    regards
     
  9. desiibond

    desiibond Bond, Desi Bond!

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    9,754
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    first, no need to write posts in mail or letter format :)
    second, stop saying sir. we are TDF users just like you
    third, since there is no price difference between BE and non-BE, go for BE.

    BE stands for Black Edition, which makes overclocking easier, thanks to unlocked multiplier.
     
  10. OP
    OP
    chetan.g

    chetan.g Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    mumbai
    thanks desiibond ....then i willl go for BE ..thaks for resolving my biassss :)
     
  11. Krow

    Krow Crowman

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,330
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
  12. The Sorcerer

    The Sorcerer oh wow...Xenforo!!!

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,411
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    ^^ maybe biass= bhaiss= bullock :mrgreen:
    Since you are saving money, I would seriously recommend you to get a proper and decent enough english tutoring :p.
    Since we are in a topic
    Even a 550be and a 7k board is an overkill for the needs mentioned about. Seriously- for surfing and playing old games? Is it really worth spending 7k on the motherboard alone? A system is chosen based one needs and then based on budget. Even a gracefully aged amd 3000+ msi rs480 config is enough for this kind of system.
    Get a amd x2 240, biostar 785g board, transcend 2GB 800mhz jetrams, gigabyte superb 460w and rest of it on case, storage, case, screen, etc.
     
  13. Krow

    Krow Crowman

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,330
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    :lol:
    He had a budget of 12-15k for proccy, mobo and RAMs. So we thought why not let him have a rig, which would not be a hassle to upgrade in the future. Keeping the budget and needs in mind, the config that would last the longest is the one suggested by desii. I think its better if he spends a little bit extra today than a lot extra tomorrow. Besides, DDR2 and DDR3 RAM's are priced similarly, so we told him to get DDR3.

    OFFTOPIC: How good is the Gigabyte 460W (80+ , Active PFC, only for 2.5k!)?
     
  14. The Sorcerer

    The Sorcerer oh wow...Xenforo!!!

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,411
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Answer is already given on my previous comment- either you haven't read it properly or didn't understand. That's the difference between us and the idiotic assemblers.
    If you guys want TDF to even remotely work as a real technical forum, you guys need to start thinking and advicinng like one. Who the heck need so much processing and expensive board to play age old games and surfing and how would it become a hassle? If one is making such comments for the currently available hardware, they need to check the already mentioned hardware first and then try it for themselves :). Even graphic card like ati 4770/4850 does work well even 240 amd x2 processor- so if someone is prematurely planning to make a redundant counter argument, it ain't going to work. Just because one has the money to spend, doesn't mean one has to overspend for his need. Buy what according to your need- that's the true way of a real hardware fan.
    Rest of the decision is for the OP to take.

    Its 2.2k last time I got the quote. Its good enough for the price being mentioned and for such systems.
     
  15. Krow

    Krow Crowman

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,330
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    It would be more like didn't understand your point then. :)
    Well, now you didn't get my post... I said a rig which would not be a hassle to UPGRADE. By that I mean, the OP can even add a couple of Gcards if he wishes to. It has 4 DDR3 RAM slots, so the mobo is definitely more future proof. But, I get your point, for running old games, this is overkill.

    The point here being, OP need not buy a GCard at all with the 785G IGP being good enough to play older games and if needed, OP can even play newer ones at lower res. I personally do not like the Biostar TA785GE 128M as it doesn't have 100% solid capacitors and doesn't support DDR3 RAM's. 2GB DDR2 @ ~2k is utter nonsense and not worth buying. Better get a 2GB DDR3 module for the same price. Hence a Gigabyte/ASUS 785 board is recommended. GA-MA785GM-US2H is for 5.5k, but is a DDR2 board again.

    Well, the ASUS board is overkill for the needs, I agree, along with the Processors, but the Biostar board is not what we like to recommend as for about a thousand bucks more, we get the Gigabyte 785G board, which again is DDR2. Hence the ASUS board came in. Overkill it is, but DDR3 sticks are only gonna get cheaper, so in the long run, it is a better buy.

    ADD: The OP may look for ASUS M4A785TD-M EVO, which is as of now hard to locate, but is a cheaper version of the M$A785TD-V EVO.
     
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2009
  16. desiibond

    desiibond Bond, Desi Bond!

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    9,754
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    Non-gamers are the ones that tend to keep their hardware for long time. now, what makes you think that Biostar 785G is worthy than the 7k ASUS Evo or MSI 780GX board? The reason why I suggested these 7k boards is their reliability. I never really trusted companies liek Biostar. These companies, you never know when they die. And as you said, these buyers trust us for the recommendation and for that I always always try to recommend the best hardware that they can get.

    now, let's compare the two boards that we suggested with the Biostar board that you suggested:

    http://www.biostar.com.tw/app/en/show_pic.php?S_ID=433
    http://www.msi.com/uploads/prod_bbdd51501976f5804022a3d76926be79.jpg
    http://www.asus.com/product.aspx?P_ID=fcsXWSxnhzZE9rnR&templete=2

    one look at the picture is enough to know the quality of the board. Also verify the specification and tell me which board can give you better power management and power savings?

    Active Phase Switching
    Sideport Memory
    All High-quality Conductive Polymer Capacitors
    eSATA
    HDMI
    optical out
    All shielded choke
    crossfire

    you may say that these features are not required. but looking at the rate at which data storage is increasing and bluray media getting more and more attention, I do say that it is better to go for a solid board than to buy a mediocre board that can just do internet browsing and then cry later.

    look at the I/O panel of MSI board (bottom of the page): http://www.msi.com/index.php?func=proddesc&maincat_no=1&cat2_no=171&cat3_no=&prod_no=1739

    and now look at the same for Biostar board: http://www.biostar.com.tw/app/en/mb/content.php?S_ID=433#

    Now, please tell me. Do you want the TDF forum active members to recommend sub-par h/w just becuase the buyer does not do gaming or do you want us to recommend a h/w that is powerful enough that he can get a little more everytime he wants to do more and can do power saving and last longer, has good support structure.

    It's your call mate!!
    -----------------------------------------
    Posted again:
    -----------------------------------------
    And if you saw my previous posts, you will notice that I always incline towards h/w manufactured by companies like Gigabyte, Samsung, Dell, Corsair, Cooler Master over biostar, benq, zebronics etc. This is because I feel and believe that it is better to save money and get quality hardware than to run with few bucks in hand and buy sub-par quality h/w.
     
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2009
  17. OP
    OP
    chetan.g

    chetan.g Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    mumbai
    hi guys ..thanks for all that suggestion:)

    I have bought the config. suggested by DesiBond & Krow...thanks man :)

    can u please suggest which Cabinet (PSU) should I opt for these ??

    Dealer suggested me: iBall gamer with 400W or Cooler Master Praetovian 731

    but i need urs suggestion :)

    warm regards
    chetan
     
  18. Krow

    Krow Crowman

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,330
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Get Cooler Master Cabinet with a good PSU like Gigabyte 460W instead of the iBall Bull$h1t! If you plan to add a graphic card later, then go for the Tagan TG-500-U37 @ 3.2k
     
  19. OP
    OP
    chetan.g

    chetan.g Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    mumbai
    thanks ... i'll go for cooler master cabinet with gigabyte

    thaks very much :)
     
  20. desiibond

    desiibond Bond, Desi Bond!

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    9,754
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    congratulation. can you post some pics of your rig? and yes, as suggested by krow, go for CM+gigabyte or CM+tagan combination.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page