All laptop related queries here!!!

kg11sgbg

In the zone
Joined
Sep 8, 2011
Messages
3,102
What I've learned from various blogs and forums,that MSI permits its user for upgrading of RAM ormay be HDD/SSD/PCIE-NVME-SSD,provided no damage to be done into internals while doing all these stuff. In that case warranty remains okay as before.
Still, If any one within this forum has their views or opinion,then those are needed to be studied.

Friend @whitestar_999 any advice?
 

omega44-xt

Gear up ...
Joined
Dec 5, 2008
Messages
5,937
What I've learned from various blogs and forums,that MSI permits its user for upgrading of RAM ormay be HDD/SSD/PCIE-NVME-SSD,provided no damage to be done into internals while doing all these stuff. In that case warranty remains okay as before.
Still, If any one within this forum has their views or opinion,then those are needed to be studied.

Friend @whitestar_999 any advice?
Might be the case in US as they have a right to repair law, which Apple is trying to take down.

In India they can just reject you warranty because the seal isn't present. For my friend, when he RMA'd his Acer laptop, the service guy removed the seal, it wasn't an issue for next servicing case though. So nowadays he opens up his laptop on his own as in case if someone raises an issue he can say that it was removed by Acer technician.
 

kg11sgbg

In the zone
Joined
Sep 8, 2011
Messages
3,102
Might be the case in US as they have a right to repair law, which Apple is trying to take down.

In India they can just reject you warranty because the seal isn't present. For my friend, when he RMA'd his Acer laptop, the service guy removed the seal, it wasn't an issue for next servicing case though. So nowadays he opens up his laptop on his own as in case if someone raises an issue he can say that it was removed by Acer technician.
Not only in US. In India also,now they are permitting,subject to the conditions as I mentioned.
 

whitestar_999

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 7, 2011
Messages
13,604
Not only in US. In India also,now they are permitting,subject to the conditions as I mentioned.
Are you sure, do you have any written/recorded proof? Different service centres handle RMA cases differently so it is not necessary that if one service centre allows it then another service centre will also allow it. Rule of thumb is if opening a laptop does not create a traceable sign(some torn/broken sticker or some physical tampering/damage inside) then anything is fine.
 

omega44-xt

Gear up ...
Joined
Dec 5, 2008
Messages
5,937
Are you sure, do you have any written/recorded proof? Different service centres handle RMA cases differently so it is not necessary that if one service centre allows it then another service centre will also allow it. Rule of thumb is if opening a laptop does not create a traceable sign(some torn/broken sticker or some physical tampering/damage inside) then anything is fine.
+1 to this, better safe than sorry
 

kg11sgbg

In the zone
Joined
Sep 8, 2011
Messages
3,102
Are you sure, do you have any written/recorded proof? Different service centres handle RMA cases differently so it is not necessary that if one service centre allows it then another service centre will also allow it. Rule of thumb is if opening a laptop does not create a traceable sign(some torn/broken sticker or some physical tampering/damage inside) then anything is fine.
In this case the "FACTORY SEAL" label sticker will be torn.
Okay,let me talk to our Kolkata MSI Service center and listen what they say.
 

omega44-xt

Gear up ...
Joined
Dec 5, 2008
Messages
5,937
In this case the "FACTORY SEAL" label sticker will be torn.
Okay,let me talk to our Kolkata MSI Service center and listen what they say.
HP CC chat guys have lied to me about opening the laptop on my own (like it will void warranty) but I know that its not an issue for them. So see what happens. As said earlier, I know that Acer & MSI does try to pull this shit with sticker.
 

kg11sgbg

In the zone
Joined
Sep 8, 2011
Messages
3,102
I have to go to the service center and upgrade the RAM...otherwise warranty becomes NULL & VOID.

Kolkata Service center ascertained that.
 

omega44-xt

Gear up ...
Joined
Dec 5, 2008
Messages
5,937
I have to go to the service center and upgrade the RAM...otherwise warranty becomes NULL & VOID.

Kolkata Service center ascertained that.
So my info is still valid, Acer & MSI are still doing that.

As said earlier, for my friend with Acer laptop, the service guy didn't put a sticker after 2nd service. Check what MSI guys do.
 

kg11sgbg

In the zone
Joined
Sep 8, 2011
Messages
3,102
So my info is still valid, Acer & MSI are still doing that.

As said earlier, for my friend with Acer laptop, the service guy didn't put a sticker after 2nd service. Check what MSI guys do.
More weird things happening.
The service center guy to whom I talked was annoyed that I had bought an ADATA 8GB DDR4 RAM. He said these cheap RAM's and those also from Crucial are all pieces of sh!ts!!!! These RAM's make the laptop unstable and blah,blah,...

He insisted on using on Samsung and Hynix manufacturer based DDR4 RAM's only for this Model(MSI Modern 14 B10MW-220IN).
He told me I could use ADATA RAM but that will be on my own risk...and service center won't replace RAM modules(through my cost)everytime.

I don't feel the logic here.
@whitestar_999 anything to add here?
I mean only Hynix and Samsung RAM's are okay,but all other RAM's are Trash. Is this true?
Also @omega44-xt , what are your views regarding these?
 

omega44-xt

Gear up ...
Joined
Dec 5, 2008
Messages
5,937
More weird things happening.
The service center guy to whom I talked was annoyed that I had bought an ADATA 8GB DDR4 RAM. He said these cheap RAM's and those also from Crucial are all pieces of sh!ts!!!! These RAM's make the laptop unstable and blah,blah,...

He insisted on using on Samsung and Hynix manufacturer based DDR4 RAM's only for this Model(MSI Modern 14 B10MW-220IN).
He told me I could use ADATA RAM but that will be on my own risk...and service center won't replace RAM modules(through my cost)everytime.

I don't feel the logic here.
@whitestar_999 anything to add here?
I mean only Hynix and Samsung RAM's are okay,but all other RAM's are Trash. Is this true?
Also @omega44-xt , what are your views regarding these?
Refer my old post earlier where I said I have caught a HP CC guy lying. Similar stuff happened with Dell with me & with others. In my office, my supervisor spent 28k for 2x16GB RAM from Dell instead of buying it locally for half the price as my supervisor believes Dell's lies regarding compatibility & stuff. So I see no reason why MSI won't do it considering they have even tried to strong arm small YouTubers for good reviews. At least Dell just doesn't send review units for not so good laptops as soon as its launched, like Alienwares.

Samsung RAM modules are considered best for OC & stuff on desktops, many RAM manufacturers buy memory from Samsung.
 

TheSloth

The Slowest One
Joined
May 24, 2012
Messages
1,939
Recently I was reading some comments on Reddit where some users mentioned about Samsung based C-die RAM modules were causing random errors for their AMD setups when they enabled XMP profile. Some of those comments also mentioned that Samsung B-die and Micron modules are most stable. Anyone here had similar experience or comment anything about it?
 

kg11sgbg

In the zone
Joined
Sep 8, 2011
Messages
3,102
Refer my old post earlier where I said I have caught a HP CC guy lying. Similar stuff happened with Dell with me & with others. In my office, my supervisor spent 28k for 2x16GB RAM from Dell instead of buying it locally for half the price as my supervisor believes Dell's lies regarding compatibility & stuff. So I see no reason why MSI won't do it considering they have even tried to strong arm small YouTubers for good reviews. At least Dell just doesn't send review units for not so good laptops as soon as its launched, like Alienwares.

Samsung RAM modules are considered best for OC & stuff on desktops, many RAM manufacturers buy memory from Samsung.
In laymans terms,will the ADATA 8GB DDR4 RAM module work in tandem with this MSI laptop?
 

whitestar_999

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 7, 2011
Messages
13,604
I don't feel the logic here.
@whitestar_999 anything to add here?
In laymans terms,will the ADATA 8GB DDR4 RAM module work in tandem with this MSI laptop?
In short 99.99% chance adata ram will work fine. Also I rate crucial as the best laptop ram available in indian market, that msi sales guy didn't know or didn't tell that samsung does not officially sell laptop ram in India to general public so you can't get warranty for such ram as all samsung ram you see on amazon/flipkart are oem units & not retail unis on which warranty applies.
 

whitestar_999

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 7, 2011
Messages
13,604
Recently I was reading some comments on Reddit where some users mentioned about Samsung based C-die RAM modules were causing random errors for their AMD setups when they enabled XMP profile. Some of those comments also mentioned that Samsung B-die and Micron modules are most stable. Anyone here had similar experience or comment anything about it?
See my above reply, you can only get samsung ram with warranty in India by purchasing other brands using samsung ram in which case you won't know which die it is using until you actually install the ram so just buy a brand with good after sales support which will replace your ram for such rare issues(I say rare because if it becomes widespread then manufacturers themselves will take some action).
 

TheSloth

The Slowest One
Joined
May 24, 2012
Messages
1,939
See my above reply, you can only get samsung ram with warranty in India by purchasing other brands using samsung ram in which case you won't know which die it is using until you actually install the ram so just buy a brand with good after sales support which will replace your ram for such rare issues(I say rare because if it becomes widespread then manufacturers themselves will take some action).
You are right. Apparently Crucial is owned by Micron who are one of manufacturers. So at least in India we should prefer Crucial RAM's so that we don't face RMA related problems, unless their After sales service is bad. Any idea about Crucial's after sales service ?
 

kg11sgbg

In the zone
Joined
Sep 8, 2011
Messages
3,102
In short 99.99% chance adata ram will work fine. Also I rate crucial as the best laptop ram available in indian market, that msi sales guy didn't know or didn't tell that samsung does not officially sell laptop ram in India to general public so you can't get warranty for such ram as all samsung ram you see on amazon/flipkart are oem units & not retail unis on which warranty applies.
THIS IS THE ANSWER THAT I WAS WAITING FOR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
CLEARED ALL MY doubts!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

In fact I am using Crucial 4GB DDR3 Laptop RAM for the past 5 yrs onto my old DELL Inspiron 14 5447 laptop. NEVER HAD ANY ISSUE TILL DATE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 

whitestar_999

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 7, 2011
Messages
13,604
So, @whitestar_999 , shall I attach the extra 8GB DDR4 RAM from ADATA by violating the warranty(due to removal of FACTORY SEAL from backside)?
I don't suggest it, msi guy cannot refuse to install your ram & at worst he will charge you ~500 as service charge(since this is not warranty related service as laptop is working fine) but other manufacturers charge similar amount for upgrading as this case does not come under warranty.
 

kg11sgbg

In the zone
Joined
Sep 8, 2011
Messages
3,102
As far as I have learnt,MSI will not charge me.
But they will refuse to use the ADATA RAM,even if they do ,with much reluctance...
They are saying that using ADATA RAM will raise issues...what type of issues nobody knows!!!!:!::?::chinscratch:
 
Top