Abt speed of DDR RAM........

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by sushantasarkar, Jul 13, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sushantasarkar

    sushantasarkar New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2006
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If i use two 256 mb ddr ram module at 400mhz each then will the overall speed of ram become 800mhz?
     
  2. rahul_becks23

    rahul_becks23 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    830
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    r u crazy.........it will remain 400 MHz.
     
  3. mayanksharma

    mayanksharma New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Noida/NCR
    using two DDR-400 modules may help you getting the double data bandwidth,if your motherboard supports Dual Channel Mode. But it will never double the RAM's frequency!
     
  4. samrulez

    samrulez New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well if u r using them in single channel they will remain.....400MHz..
    If u put them in dual channel..then... theortically the speed is doubled but....practically it is much much less...
     
  5. rahul_becks23

    rahul_becks23 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    830
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    sam is right.
     
  6. deathvirus_me

    deathvirus_me New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    i really LOL'ed on this ... well the answer is NO !! ... just almost double the mem. bandwidth ..
     
  7. samrulez

    samrulez New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    r u sure??coz then 2x 400MHz modules will run at 800MHz..and 2x667 MHz modules will run at 1334MHz.....
     
  8. SE><IE

    SE><IE Guest

    ohhhh... jus 3 MHz away from 1337
     
  9. killerz

    killerz MasterMind

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dehradun
    r u nutz lol i wont help , speed will remain 400Mhz
     
  10. SE><IE

    SE><IE Guest

    Guys there's no point in burning the fingers. If it were so then why would people go for 800 MHz DDR II 1 GB RAM. Won't they buy 2 400 MHz 512 MB(each) RAMs.
    lol if it were so then there would have been no existence of DDR II RAMs.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page