Which config to go for....

Status
Not open for further replies.

jay4u

In the zone
i have two options... which one should i go for....

1. p4 1 mb cache 2.4 ghz 478 pin
intel 865gbf D
transcend 512 mb 400mhz ram

2. amd 3000+ (dont know porcessor... but budget for it is 6k... can u sugest one.. is my choice right)
msi rs 482 mobo
transcend 512 mb 400 mhz ram

Constraints are :
1. more emphasis on performance than gaming
2. keep my pc on for almost 10 hrs a day
3. least amount of noise from system
4. casual gamer
5. running for windows xp
6. future pcie graphics card will be added...

can u brief me out on the amd processor... is it ok.. means what are the different cores like venice core.. sempron etc.. plz i am new to amd...

mohit

The Hardware Labs
go for the amd config buddy. get an amd athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 processor. it will cost under 6k.

reasons,

:arrow: 64 bit processor

:arrow: no issues of heating and noise

:arrow: msi rs482 board has pci express architecture whereas intel 865 has agp.

:arrow: it will perform much better in games due to the very good onboard grpahics of the msi rs482 board which is any day better than intel extreme graphics.

h_kunte

Journeyman
@jay4u

AMD is the thing of the future...Go for the 3000+ proccy with the MSI RS 482 board. Ya, its on-board graphix solution is very good for moderate gaming & other graphix-intensive applications. If possible go in for 2*512 MB RAm.....& u shall have a future proof system..(Atleast for the next 2-3 years)....Enjoy!

HK

john_the_ultimate

No pain....No gain
I had bought amd64 3000+ venice core recently for Rs. 5700/-. And if ya don't want onboard gfx but want to buy a seperate pci-e gfx card then u can go for ASUS A8N-E, it costs around Rs. 5600/-.

asdf1223

Journeyman
intel 865 has only agp 8x. go for amd.thers no point on an intel unless u plan to do video encoding 24/7. amd runs cooler. my 3000+ runs under 50.C most of the time.

ur best options would be a
amd 3000+