what is systems programming?

Status
Not open for further replies.

geekgod

Journeyman
hi, i am an absolute newbie, as is evident from my first post.
what is systems programming? if i have no idea about programming, how should i proceed if i want to be an expert ? i dont want any course name. i want to learn myself. and what is the systems programming and software development?
by the way, people do tell me i am not dull :wink:

technomodel

Journeyman
welcome to the foru m8.
now to get to ur post, if u want to have any future with progaramming, start with learning a good language. i suggest c, as it is the father of all languages, and if u master it, u can shift to any later. the definitive book is ritchie kerninghan's 'C Programmig Language'. another option is gottfried

GNUrag

FooBar Guy
Hi,

System programming: Refers to programming various components of the target operating system. like say, writing daemons, device drivers... these generally dont have any great commercial value and must be integrated with the operating system before distributng... they may also be programmed as firmware and come along with your hardware.

Application programming: Refers to programming various productivity packages/ERP/ office suites/ media players... these are general purpose software applications that can be purchased off-the-shelf... they generally target a particular segment of users and may have a distribution channel for sales...

OP
G

geekgod

Journeyman
i mean, is it possible for one to master both? for example, one who develops the linux kernel, can he also take part in the development of softwares for the linux platform, like openoffice?(i heard something like that somewhere).

GNUrag

FooBar Guy
Generally application development is carried by commercial companies like infy/wipro and may involve VC++/Borland and other tools where you have to build GUIs/databases or other things depending on the project/tender your company has got...