1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

What Is Edge?

Discussion in 'Mobiles and Tablets' started by mandar5, May 2, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mandar5

    mandar5 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2005
    Messages:
    726
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    mumbai
    Hi guys may i know what is EDGE?I have heard it is advansed gprs.Can i connect edge enabled fone to pc to browse internet on pc?Is thare any phone in 5k range with edge?
    Thanx,
    Mandar.
     
  2. saiaspire

    saiaspire Guest

    EDGE is enhanced data rates for gsm. it is a advanced version of gprs. You can connect to the pc and therotically surf at speeds for 384kbps. Visit www.univercell.in for costs of EDGE enabled phones
     
  3. amitgg

    amitgg New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't think any mobile service in India provide edge service. Make sure before you buy a phone.
     
  4. dIgItaL_BrAt

    dIgItaL_BrAt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,135
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    wrong buddy,Hutch does have support for EDGE
    Dunno abt Airtel or Idea though.
     
  5. freezer

    freezer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Airtel and Idea also do support EDGE
     
  6. OP
    OP
    mandar5

    mandar5 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2005
    Messages:
    726
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    mumbai
    What about Trump or Dolphin?
    Plz reply
     
  7. prankie

    prankie D PrankMaster

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bhopal | Pune
    Why dont u call there customer service and ask them????
     
  8. nikhil

    nikhil New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lucknow
    yes airtel does support this edge...but i would like to add one question????don't know if i should have a seperate posting for this or not....is the airtel blackberry a good product(the new one which they have released recently? is it worth buying? i need net on the move
     
  9. teknoPhobia

    teknoPhobia t3h g04t

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AnKH Morpork/Tsort
    you'll get net on the move with any of the higher end models from nokia, the only advantage of blackberry is the email system, something like outlook. If u are using Gmail or Yahoo, you can access them from the other phones, I have used gmail and Yahoo with my 3220, but you won't get the graphics
     
  10. mAYHEM

    mAYHEM New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nowhere
    I think Nokia 3220 is the cheapest edge phone.Airtel provides EDGE only at two paces in my state and cost Rs 999 only.
     
  11. nikhil

    nikhil New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lucknow
    so does this mean that the blackberry provides better graphics? and whay is the advantage of EDGE over regular services which the isp provides?
     
  12. sanju

    sanju Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I am using se k700i and planning to shifting a edge phone can airtel haryana will provide edge facility and what cost. I am just using 299 unlimited plan of airtel and feeling the speed is very slow.
    any solution plz suggest...
    thanx
     
  13. sidewinder

    sidewinder New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    628
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    West Bengal
    Buddy do get Airtel edge without any extra cost...i mean i hav airtel mobile office activated and whenever i try to see tv on my 3230...network speed exceeds 15 kbps...normally its between 6-8 kbps..so i think airtel supports edge
    PC browsing is also pretty fast..around 8-12 kbps in offpeak hours..
     
  14. Najesh

    Najesh New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Siliguri
    I don't know Sidwinder that u r from which place but here in bengal airtel provides only gprs,and not edge.
     
  15. teknoPhobia

    teknoPhobia t3h g04t

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AnKH Morpork/Tsort
    @ Najesh, why don't you call up Airtel customer care, the theoretical max on vanilla gprs is 6 KBps(48 kbps with 3 timeslots) Edge is 3ice as fast, and you can easily expect practical speeds of between 10-18 Kbps which ppl are getting in cal.
    @nikhil check out blackberry.com, it's just that yahoo/gmail don't support showing graphics in mobile, the phone can display if they show. The graphics are disabled due to issues with fitting on the mobile screens
     
  16. teknoPhobia

    teknoPhobia t3h g04t

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AnKH Morpork/Tsort
    @ Najesh, why don't you call up Airtel customer care, the theoretical max on vanilla gprs is 6 KBps(48 kbps with 3 timeslots) Edge is 3ice as fast, and you can easily expect practical speeds of between 10-18 Kbps which ppl are getting in cal.
    @nikhil check out blackberry.com, it's just that yahoo/gmail don't support showing graphics in mobile, the phone can display if they show. The graphics are disabled due to issues with fitting on the mobile screens
     
  17. Najesh

    Najesh New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Siliguri
    The Customer care is Good 4 nothing.
     
  18. digital_mech

    digital_mech New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    mumbai
    Airtel customer care sucks!! Now I have stopped calling them..they are just useless suckers. Even i know more than them about their products.

    N about EDGE..Airtel provides EDGE here in Mumbai. It is 300% faster than plain GPRS. Now i can see TV on my cell with the help of mobiTV software.
     
  19. sidewinder

    sidewinder New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    628
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    West Bengal
    Yes I think the speed I am getting..its got to be edge...
    Just last night i downloaded Kaspersky internet security(14 mb) in 18 min flat...
    Do i need a broadband anymore ?????????
     
  20. digital_mech

    digital_mech New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    mumbai
    certainly NOT!
    Its not as fast as good BB connection..but most important thing is its much cheaper than Broadband.
    So EDGE is good..but i am waiting for the bigger thing>> 3G
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page