We Follow MS - Hell Every1 follows em

Google to Offer Free Online Storage

Google is looking to take that concept and transform it into a full featured service independent from GMail. The Wall Street Journal first broke the story about this development yesterday.

Google has not announced how much storage users will get, but it is safe to assume it will be more than GMail’s 5 GB. It has been announced that additional space will be available in addition to the baseline amount, for a small fee.

The move will likely be expensive for Google, as it will require more storage infrastructure. However, it seems a logical one. The more information users store on the internet, the more they will be dependent on the internet and internet services in their daily computer usage. In effect this will shift users away from the desktop OS environment, dominated by Microsoft and into the internet services realm, dominated by Google.

For the user it is an exciting idea too, as they get more free space to store or back up their files.

One sticky issue raised by the new development actually stems from an objective Google has for its new service -- to allow users to share their files with a friend, similar to shared space on a Local Area Network. This will likely bring up unpleasant copyright issues for the company, whose subsidiary YouTube is already facing a bizarre legal onslaught from the rock-and-roller Prince. According to The Wall Street Journal, Google is currently in talks with copyright holders about how to approach this issue and avoid more legal troubles.

CadCrazy

in search of myself
Just because google responded lately to online storage does nt means that everyone is following M$.What a joke. Kya tum ab tak so rahe the kya. Lagta hai aaj hi aankh khuli hai tumhari.
According to you "Google is always following M$" :-D :mrgreen:
can't stop laughing.Tumne lag raha hai M$ ke share kharid rakhe hai. :D

Nice but i hardly use so much of space..
I read somewhere...like this.

Upload everything onto net...i mean everything,
One day when yöü loose or forget or someone hacks and changes your password,..or something goes wrong with their servers,everything is lost.

Anyway even i tried to upload my photos onto flickr,its really a pain in ase..

Off topic
Suggest me a site to upload my photos and share them with unlimited space and without my content being erased after few months.

Gigacore

Dreamweaver
@ naveen..its damn easy to upload files in flickr using their new "flash" upload method.. or u can download and install the uploading tool and just right-click on the pic.. send !!!

casanova

The Frozen Nova
Ya, if MS does something first and some1 follows, its just they entered late and if some1 does it first and MS follows, they copied.

However, MS is not the first in it. There were some others before it.

if this service comes free from google then rapidshare ki waaaaaaaaaat lag jayegi!!!! :mrgreen:

hope that's its not among the GOOGLE'S APRIL FOOL JOKES!!! :-|

aku

Gonna make it BiG
casanova said:
Ya, if MS does something first and some1 follows, its just they entered late and if some1 does it first and MS follows, they copied.

Exactly!... but you are forgetting something... it's some sorta trend to curse microsoft for each and everything they do. :)

Cyrus_the_virus

Unmountable Boot Volume
I guess it's time to reverse the title of this thread after you look at this thread *www.thinkdigit.com/forum/showthread.php?t=69605 lol.. :D :D

casanova

The Frozen Nova
Yeh akuCRACKER, its a trend. Not only in s/w field, but everywhere. Curse the best.

@Cyrus,
How did Google then get an idea about online office. It was the phenomenal success of Microsoft Office.

Cyrus_the_virus

Unmountable Boot Volume
casanova said:
@Cyrus,
How did Google then get an idea about online office. It was the phenomenal success of Microsoft Office.
Yeah, and the people who made trucks copied from those who made cars.. and the people who made CD's copied from those who made floppies... dude, this is the technology world, you can't just say someone copied something when it's a completely different platform. It might be their inspiration but it no ways leads to copying! There is the difference between the sun and the moon between online and offiline services.

My last posted stated that all this cannot be called copying unless someone copies the exact same things for the exact same platform with nothing fresh with your exact same icons with your exact same font and with your exact same logo is when it's called copying.

Don't be one of the Microsoftian who thinks everything the sofware world makes is copied from them!:cool:

casanova

The Frozen Nova
Thats the point, if MS innovates it is a copy. If someone else does it, it is innovation, technology.

I don't have issues with evolving technology. I enjoy it but rather unbiased.