want to replace old to new graphic card

Discussion in 'Graphic cards' started by savithk, Jul 18, 2018.

  1. savithk

    savithk Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Ahmedabad
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2018
  2. SaiyanGoku

    SaiyanGoku kamehameha!!

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Messages:
    9,640
    Likes Received:
    652
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hyderabad/Raipur
  3. OP
    OP
    savithk

    savithk Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Ahmedabad
    1. What is the intended use for this graphic card ? Gaming or workstation work?
    Ans: basic Photo editing , Microsoft Excel Microsoft Word , movie + you tube , basic sound recording software

    2. Which Power Supply do you have?
    Ans: Antec VP550P 550 Watts

    3. What is your Max budget ?
    Ans: 3k or 4k

    4. Which Screen resolution will you game at (if applicable)?
    Ans: NO games

    5. What are your current computer specifications ?
    Ans: Dell S2240L + AMD Phenom II X2 555 (3.2 GHz) + ASUS ATI Radeon HD 4350 1GB DDR2 + ASUS M4N68T-M V2 + Cooler Master Hyper 103+ DDR3 - 8GB RAM + 2TB HDD + Antec VP550P PSU
     
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2018
  4. quicky008

    quicky008 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,575
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Kolkata
    Get something like a Gt 710 from zotac/asus etc.It should cost around 2000.
     
  5. nac

    nac Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,536
    Likes Received:
    148
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Your iGPU working fine?
    Did you notice your HD4350 performs significantly better than your iGPU for your use case? I highly doubt that. Coz, I don't find my GT 710 performs any better than my iGPU for my use case which is very similar to yours.

    I am using GT710 1GB DDR3 as I needed to connect multiple monitor. Sole reason for getting this card is getting multi monitor support. But since the cpu/mb I am using (c2d 8400) and this GT710 are of different architecture and I am facing display crash every single day. So it's likely you will also face this issue with your rig is also quite old if you opt for graphic cards like GT710 or newer.

    If your iGPU is not working and you really need graphic card, I would suggest you to source one from used market. Something like GT210.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    savithk

    savithk Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Ahmedabad
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2018
  7. topgear

    topgear Fast 'N' Furious

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    18,818
    Likes Received:
    102
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Geek's Heaven
  8. OP
    OP
    savithk

    savithk Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Ahmedabad
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2018
  9. SaiyanGoku

    SaiyanGoku kamehameha!!

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Messages:
    9,640
    Likes Received:
    652
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hyderabad/Raipur
  10. topgear

    topgear Fast 'N' Furious

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    18,818
    Likes Received:
    102
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Geek's Heaven
  11. quicky008

    quicky008 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,575
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Kolkata
    dont buy a low end gpu like 710 for 5000-it would be a tremendous waste of money.instead try looking for used 210/710 type gpus on olx/quikr etc-you can find them for 1-2k if you're lucky-they aren't worth anything more than that.
     
  12. OP
    OP
    savithk

    savithk Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Ahmedabad
    this PCI Express 3.0 cards is backward compatibility with PCI Express 2.0 ??
     
  13. whitestar_999

    whitestar_999 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    8,283
    Likes Received:
    876
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    NCR
    All pci express cards are backward compatible(just like usb).
     

Share This Page