Via chipset or Intel Original

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by nach p, Jun 21, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nach p

    nach p New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    mUMBAI
    Hi guys,
    I am going to buy a new PC.I have some queries regarding mobo and processor.
    Which motherboard should I select between Via chipset or Intel original and if possible then model no.and also supporting processors to that mobo.
    Thnx in advance!!
     
  2. kalpik

    kalpik In Pursuit of "Happyness"

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,002
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Umm not much idea about model no, but definately go for intel original. Via is utter crap. Go for nvidia chipset if you cannot get intel original.
     
  3. hermit

    hermit New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i have via chipset its crappp or what every u like to say its waste ! dont even think of buying it .

    i
     
  4. chota_rod_waala

    chota_rod_waala Banned

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    via doesnt give the full performance

    intel ok average

    get nvidia chipset runs cool

    go with AMD AND MSI
     
  5. gxsaurav

    gxsaurav Guest

    vis is good, but only i u keep up with the driver updates
     
  6. gsmsikar

    gsmsikar Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    india
    via is good , i dont think there is any problem with via , but yeah u have to keep the drivers update and it also have many other features which are not available with intel boards ...
     
  7. samrulez

    samrulez New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well for a AMD based comp get a mobo with nforce4...
    Intel original is good for intel processors...
    VIA is cr@p.....
    As for the brand stick with ASUS...
     
  8. OP
    OP
    nach p

    nach p New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    mUMBAI
    I think I should go for Intel Original.

    Now I have one more question regarding Ram!!
    What is preferable ? i.e.one 1gb stick or two 512mb stick.
    Which option will give better performance?
     
  9. chota_rod_waala

    chota_rod_waala Banned

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    via is not crap
    its just below intel by 10%
     
  10. samrulez

    samrulez New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Go for 512 X2 sticks and put it in dual channel mode so it will double up the speeds...Put it in the ram slots of the same colour...and it will be done..
     
  11. chota_rod_waala

    chota_rod_waala Banned

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yup dual channel wimm make game loading times small
    but dont expect any fps change with dual channel

    and the general perforamce like windows will be doubled practically but expect 50% increase atleast in real time.
     
  12. ashfame

    ashfame New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    761
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delhi / Jaipur
    two sticks of 512mb will cost u less & they can be used in dual channel mode (if ur mobo supports it) for performance boost

    EDIT:
    Sorry for answering again but last time page was loaded upto ur ques & not upto where ur ques was already answered.
     
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2006
  13. deathvirus_me

    deathvirus_me New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Well ... VIA is better than intel original anytime ... i ran my 2400+ on a VIA chipset and loved the performance .....
     
  14. OP
    OP
    nach p

    nach p New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    mUMBAI
    Finally I bought P D 2.8 and D945GNTL and Transcend 1 gb ddr.

    I dont play high end games so above cofig must be fine for me.

    Thnx for replies.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page