Transcend 64GB SSD

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by static_x, Oct 5, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. static_x

    static_x New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi,

    I've recently installed Transcend's 64 GB Solid State Disk (2.5" IDE) to my desktop. Now I'm using it as the system drive on my desktop with only the OS on it (Win XP Pro SP3).
    The start up is real fast and it takes only 8-10 secs to boot up my PC. The installed programs are working real fast.
    I do not find any considerable difference when i access files from my other HDDs. The difference in speed is only felt when i work on the data which is stored on the same SSD drive.
    [​IMG]:razz:
     
  2. monkey

    monkey Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    662
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    The reason is simple - your data accessing speed is determined by the slower component among the SSD and HDD (which is HDD in your former case). When the data is on SSD only then you will be guided by the speed of SSD alone (which is much faster).
     
  3. OP
    OP
    static_x

    static_x New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    @monkey..i agree with you..i was just sharing my experience with you guys :)
     
  4. Krow

    Krow Crowman

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,330
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    SSD... hmmm.. How much did it cost you?
     
  5. OP
    OP
    static_x

    static_x New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Got it from US...$89.99 after some rebate...
     
  6. hell_storm2006

    hell_storm2006 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata, Nagpur, Pune
    SSD's are still very expensive and yet to become mainstream in the Indian market. Till the time they cut the prices down to atleast something close to WD Black, nobody would think about it. But that said, SSD's have no match for performance!
     
  7. chesss

    chesss mera kutch nahi ho sakta

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    876
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delhi
    Cool ! how much time does it take to resume from standby/hibernate ?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page