Suggestions Pls

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by sysfilez, Nov 6, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sysfilez

    sysfilez Welcome To The Jungle

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Living in a garbage can.
    I had a Asus A8N-E mobo after few months of perfect working it showed up video controller problem and there was no display, it was replaced by Rashi peripherals and i got a M2N-E well in tat case i had to change the CPU and RAM. now last night i had the same problem with M2N-E that is video controller problem, there was no display. Its giving the display beep codes. I use a PCI-E graphic card XFX 7600GS.
    I was wondering how is this possible that both the boards have same problem. Anyway the warrant got expired few months ago, now i am left with two options
    1. buy a new mobo
    2. take this mobo to service center and get it replaced/repaired if they are convinced.

    Anyway I have this AMD 64 X2 processor, pls suggest a good mobo. and possibly not ASUS.
     
  2. hell_storm2006

    hell_storm2006 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata, Nagpur, Pune
    what's your PSU? Explain the issue in little bit more detail.
    New Mobo: Biostar TA790GXBE or TA785GE
     
  3. OP
    OP
    sysfilez

    sysfilez Welcome To The Jungle

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Living in a garbage can.
    One long beep followed by three short beep. There is no display.
    Wen i had A8N-E i had the same problem after few months of usage then rashi changed the mobo saying video controller problem and i got M2N-E now after a yr same problem. Last evening wen i switched on the pc the video controller was uninstalled , then automatically win xp detected new hardware and re installed the vid controller, i restarted the pc after installation n it was working fine. At night wen i switched it on again this problem started. Previously i had this problem but then i used to take out the PCI E card and reinstall it and it used to work fine. Now it refuses.
    My rig config
    Asus M2N-E mobo
    AMD 64 X2 4000+
    Corsair XMS dual channel 1gbx2 Ram 800mhz
    XFX 7600GS graphic

    pls suggest a budget mobo which is good.
    -----------------------------------------
    Posted again:
    -----------------------------------------
    I use a Antec Sonata Cabinet with earthwatts PSU
     
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2009
  4. hell_storm2006

    hell_storm2006 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata, Nagpur, Pune
  5. OP
    OP
    sysfilez

    sysfilez Welcome To The Jungle

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Living in a garbage can.
    ^^
    Yes u might be right abt the GPU. last evening i fitted the graphic card in a friends computer and that PC didnt boot. It didnt even boot with the onboard grahpics that my friend had. I guess its the graphic card that has gone kaput. anyway in half an hour time i will fit it in another machine and chek whether the GPU has really gone.
    Thanks for helping.
    Any suggestion on a new PCI E Graphic card (budget one)
     
  6. hell_storm2006

    hell_storm2006 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata, Nagpur, Pune
    How much do you plan on spending?
     
  7. harsha0498

    harsha0498 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    cochin,india
    easiest troubleshooting may be,upgrading the graphics card may solve the problem.or else visit a technician for a specific fix.
     
  8. Techn0crat

    Techn0crat RPG FTW!!!

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    For Graphic Card,check prices of nvidia 9500/9600/9800/ATI 4850/4870(arranged according to prices from low to high)
     
  9. OP
    OP
    sysfilez

    sysfilez Welcome To The Jungle

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Living in a garbage can.
    Well i hardly play games these days, so no need for high end one. 80% of the time i am working on Photoshop CS3/4, rest 20% watching movies, etc. My budget is around 2300/-. My mobo is Asus M2NE.
     
  10. hell_storm2006

    hell_storm2006 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata, Nagpur, Pune
    Could you please mention you full config including your model and brand name, including PSU.

    For now just know that Rs. 2300 isn't a good budget for a GPU. 9500GT DDR3 version is the best low end card you can get and that's around 3.5k.
     
  11. OP
    OP
    sysfilez

    sysfilez Welcome To The Jungle

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Living in a garbage can.
    Mt Configuration

    AMD 64 X2 - 4200+
    Asus M2N-E mobo
    Corsair TWIN2X 2*1Gb memory 800Mhz
    EarthWatts 500 Watt power supply
    Sony DVD Writer
    Seagate 80Gb+160Gb+40Gb+40Gb
    Pinnacle Tv Tuner card
    Creative SBLive 5.1 sound card
    Chasis Antec Sonata
    Creative Inspire 4.1
    Borrowed last evening XFX Geforce 6200LE graphic card from a friend.

    My pc worked perfectly last evening, hope it continues to do so. will test it few more days and then may be i will buy a new graphic card. My budget is 2300/- inclusive 4%vat. Pls suggest a card.
     
  12. Krow

    Krow Crowman

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,330
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Get some cheap card like 8400GS or 9400GS.
     
  13. hell_storm2006

    hell_storm2006 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata, Nagpur, Pune
    Are you planning to upgrade in the near future? If so don't invest on a GPU now. Get a full config with a decent PSU when you upgrade.

    Also you could get Palit 9400GT Super at 2.5k. But its DDR2! Which is outdated.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page