SOS :- linux Bluetooth dun does not work

Status
Not open for further replies.
Okay lemme make it clear that I am new to linux. I have been trying to move from XP to linux since last one and a half year but have not been successful till date. Reason - Internet.

Earlier I didnt have one (one year ago) and tried to install and work on distros that came along with magazines and experienced hell lot of problems - support requiers internet , update requires internet and everything.

approxmately one year ago I got myself a GPRS connection on my mobile which I connected to my PC using bluetooth (bluesoleil) on windows.

I wanted to use linux tried a lot but have not been able to connect using Bluetooth dun on linux.
Now I have a spare hard disk for my laptop and have tried 6-8 distros just for the sole purpose of this DUN.

pc linux os could not detect my bluetooth hardware. tried to install bluez packages but got stuck with dependencies. it requiered dbus which inturn required expat got dbus running but bluez could not recognize that dbus is installed.

opensuse 11.1, ubuntu 8.10 and open solaris did detect my hardware but
pairing was not possible - neither using the gui interface nor from the terminal. installed bluesoleil's .deb package on ubuntu , that event could not work properly.

I could make debian 5.0 could detect and pair from the command line but i failed to connect to the dun.

and I could not even bring out the terminal in PC BSD 7.1

trying to mount the bluetooth hardware when running linux in virtual box simply bring out the blue dump : - highly irritating as i have to wait for another 10 minutes for my system to become normal again.