1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

Solaris 9 on x86

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by pradeep_chauhan, Aug 21, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pradeep_chauhan

    pradeep_chauhan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Dear Guys
    Has any one tried to install solaris 9 x86 on a p4 machine? I have a p4 2.4 on a p4p800 MoBo 512 DDR 400 and 160 SATA hdd running win XP sp 2 and fedora core 2 (dual boot using grub). I was wondring that can solaris coexist with the above mentioned setup (on a seperate 40 GB partition). Any one with solaris experience ?
    PS Solaris 9 for x86 is a free download.
     
  2. GameAddict

    GameAddict New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hyderabad
    Solarix 9(x86)

    Hi,

    I want to install Solaris on my machine. I tried Solaris 7 on Lab PC's and it worked. Did you downloaded the ISO's? Can you courier them to me?

    Bye!

    GA
     
  3. OP
    OP
    pradeep_chauhan

    pradeep_chauhan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    solaris 9 for x86

    If you are in bangalore you can collect the cd from me. I tried loading solaris 9 on my pc but am facing a driver problem ie SATA hdd are not recognised by solaris 9 . so now i am running solaris in linux fedora core 2 with VM ware
    regards
    pradeep
     
  4. devianthulk

    devianthulk New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Will I be able to install solaris 9 x86 on a p4 machine with 256 Mb ram using Vmware??

    Plz lemme know.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    pradeep_chauhan

    pradeep_chauhan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    YES, I am running it on a P3 866 with 512Mb RAM running fedora core 1 and VMware. It runs perfectly. So on your machine it will not run but gallop.
    regards pradeep
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page