should i upgrade to DDR3

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by himadri_sm, Oct 17, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. himadri_sm

    himadri_sm Mad Eyed Llama

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    My PC Specs- ASUS P5KC , Intel Core2Quad Q9300 @ 2.5Ghz...3 Gb DDR2 RAM, ATI HD4850 512mb...now i use my PC mainly for running 3d softwares like blender, GIMP etc...& some bit of gaming...now how much performance increase can i expect if i upgrade to DDR3?is it worth to upgrade or not? Also what will be the price for a 3gb DDR3 RAM? thank you..
     
  2. p_dude

    p_dude New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i would suggest you to stick with what you have right now.
     
  3. Krow

    Krow Crowman

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,330
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    You won't get DDR3 ram without buying an entire new setup involving mobo, proccy and ram. Your current specs are good enough. 3GB RAM means 1x1GB and 1x2GB, right? You may upgrade to 2x2GB DDR2 instead. The bandwidth increase by DDR3 RAM is not utilised by most apps yet, so it won't really give you too much of a performance gain. Both DDR2 and DDR3 modules are of similar price now due to recent hike in DDR2 prices. Well, 2x2GB DDR3 would be around 5k.
     
  4. OP
    OP
    himadri_sm

    himadri_sm Mad Eyed Llama

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    thanx for replying guys...i have an asus P5KC m/b which supports DDR3(so i think), now i think i'll wait for some time & buy another 3gb(1+2) of DDR2 Ram..'ll wait for prices to drop..
     
  5. Krow

    Krow Crowman

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,330
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Erm... I really don't know of a board which supports both DDR2 and DDR3. Btw, why not 2x2GB DDR2 RAM instead of 1+2. 2x2GB will provide more bandwidth due to running in dual channel provided they are of same manufacturer, same latency and same clockspeed.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    himadri_sm

    himadri_sm Mad Eyed Llama

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
  7. Krow

    Krow Crowman

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,330
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    2x2GB will be about 4.5k for DDR3 and 4k for DDR2. Wow! That combo memory support is pretty cool. :)
     
  8. OP
    OP
    himadri_sm

    himadri_sm Mad Eyed Llama

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    well, thanx a lot...i think i'll be buying 2x2gb RAM now...

    MODS please close this thread...
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page